Weekly Free Steem Giveaway Winner's Announcement + New Ways to Win!!

Hey guys! This is the 5th giveaway and during the last 4, no one has won yet. I realised that the chance of any specific person winning is about 0.2% which is really quite discouraging so starting from this week and onwards, I'll be giving more Steem away to people I feel are deserving! Read below for more details.

What's this contest for?

This contest is mainly for two reasons, for me to gain some more followers and for minnows to have more motivation. The first reason is quite obvious so let me explain my second point.

To be a valid entry, you must be "active". This means that you must have posted or commented a total of 5 times in the last week. This is not a hard ask for someone who is actually active, it's less than one per day! Furthermore, you must NOT be a bot or spammer, which I will decide based on my personal discretion.

This aims to help community engagement by promoting being active. Furthermore, it also aims to help keep minnows active who may be lacking financial incentive as they're getting very low post rewards.

Steem VS SBI Shares

You now have the option to either accept your reward in Steem or an equivalent in Steem Basic Income Shares! Since SBI buys you and me a share, I'll sponsor the winners two times their Steem prize to make it equivalent! Learn more about SBI here

Basically, if you win 5 Steem, you can choose to accept 5 Steem OR 10 Steem Basic Income Shares (worth 5 Steem)!

Basically, one is long term while the other is short term.

Last week the prizes looked like this

  • 0-100 new followers: 2 Steem + jackpot split between 1 person
  • 101-200 new followers: 3 Steem + jackpot split between 2 people
  • 201-350 new followers: 5 Steem + jackpot split between 3 people
  • 351-500 new followers: 10 Steem + jackpot split between 5 people
  • For each post over $100 payout - paid upvotes from bots, I will put an extra 5 Steem in the prize!

Therefore, this week's prize will be 14 Steem split between 2 people!

Choosing the winner

The following numbers were chosen:

Alphabetically, they correspond to: @cryptodiva27 and @kado013
They are both inactive and therefore we have no winners again.

New Ways to Win

It's been rather dissatisfying not giving away any Steem 5 weeks in a row, so I would like to donate 1 Steem to a friend of mine who lives in Venezuela and has suffered from the economic disaster they're encountering, @reinaldoverdu

I know there are many others who are in need of money, but for now I don't have enough time to scout others out. After exams, I'll try to find more people who need as much as they can get as they're suffering through economic depressions or just had a rough time lately. Check back in later weeks for more details!!

This week the prizes look like this

  • 0-100 new followers: 2 Steem + jackpot split between 1 person
  • 101-200 new followers: 3 Steem + jackpot split between 2 people
  • 201-350 new followers: 5 Steem + jackpot split between 3 people
  • 351-500 new followers: 10 Steem + jackpot split between 5 people
  • For each post over $100 payout - paid upvotes from bots, I will put an extra 5 Steem in the prize

Some stats

  • Giveaway Number: 5
  • Followers at the start of week: 1475
  • Current followers: 1475
  • Current Prize: 2 Steem + jackpot between 1 person
  • Jackpot: 13 Steem
  • Total Prize given out: 1 Steem

Some Thoughts

The last 5 weeks worth of people who were randomly chosen to win this competition have ALL been inactive. It really gets me thinking how many people out of the 1475 followers are actually active. It does make sense the majority are inactive though. If 10% of people who see my content comment, and the posts I don't promote with bid bots get around 3-4 comments, only 30-40 of my followers are active. Therefore, statistically only 1 for every 32 people are active. At this rate it's gonna take us 16 weeks before the prize is finally given out to one person! This is why I will be donating 1-2 Steem per week if there are no winners!!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center