Steemit-virus contest #8 : Passive stereotype of the shallow-minded

image
#courtesy steemit-virus contest.


Here's another round of steemit-virus contest. The above image is originally extracted from the source for interpretation.
My interpretation is what I termed:

"The passive stereotype of a shallow-minded....


The mentality and impression we sometime have about others with a particular characteristics are often unfair and maybe untrue about them. So this led us to tag them with some sort of inferiority, underestimation and disregard.

Maybe I'm wrong by saying this, but let's take a deep thought about some instance.


Dozie has this bizare attitude that makes me don't want to have anything to do with him, John said. He doesn't seems to stand up to help whenever I need him. Funny side, even if he decide to assist, not when money is not involved. I had helped him in several occasions but none he would do when I asked of him.
This was a conversation I had with John during our picnic. I had seen John as the last person to run to for assistance. Though i was yet to encounter such with him. But undoubtedly if you ask me who he is, I would tell you he's a miser.
Alongside the chevron drive I had been stranded waiting for a miracle. I had left my wallet at home when I left in the morning. I managed to get to work via the staff bus and had my breakfast with my change at the restaurant. This time I had no one to run to as I was preoccupied with some paperwork - I could have ask a colleague for help. Dozie works in an office few meters away from mine. He's the last person I would expect to extend a hand at this time. We had met once at the Lekki Conservation Center during our year end party. Obviously he had seen me with John as an acquaintance. I also did. though we didn't exchange pleasantries. And my impression towards him hadn't been friendly. Pong! pong! I heard continuous sound of a car horn few steps away from me. Who could that be? I exclaimed. Surprisingly it was Dozie. Hi! Are you going my way? Do you mind ride with me? Dozie sounded warmly. This time I recalled he lived in a bungalow down my street. Yes I replied!
Riding with him could be a wrong decision and a worst moment for me I thought at first. What if he demands a fare? I asked myself. Anyway, let's see what how it goes.
We exchanged pleasantries, so we engaged in conversation - narrating my experience for the day, he felt so pity for me, coupled with the Hunger written all over me. Stopping by at a food spot, he came out with two packs of take away. I wasn't expecting anything of such as food gift or money anyway. But I was dumbfounded when he handed one pack to me. I was like "who owns this"? May be he's trying to be nice. But I found it incredible. I asked him again. Is this for me? To be sure I wasn't just helping him to get in the car. He smiled.

On our way, he got a call to from his boss for a meeting. He couldn't help it but to yield to the call. This time he crowned it all by requesting a ride for me on Uber - gave me some cash to pay for the ride as a "sorry for dropping me halfway" .


I was speechless. I still can't believe that was the same Dozie who is a miser. But ever since, I see him as a helper, an umbrella, a superior and a King.

So you would agree with me that our impressions about others' characteristics atimes might be wrong, untrue and unfair.
They may turn out to be a king.


Thank you for reading. ![image]( Credit to @Jodipamungkas for designing my badge. Also shout-out to @gbenga for his support.

Don't forget to

UPVOTE

COMMENT

RESTEEM

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center