A Celtic Funeral. #0714

--News today of another V.Vet passing. His brother left us in 2011 so I pulled an old journal to find some eulogy hints.
IMG_20180602_122344-01.jpeg < image : Dreamstime.com >
--Sun 5 June, 2011 : Aus all Over, ABC. Ronald Biggs was talking to Macca about his stay here from '65 - '69. How he left the country and the friends he made in Adelaide. / {Went to Sian's yest arvo and we went to pick up Skye to babysit so Sian could go out with her new ym. Sian had Jeffery look after the twins while I took her to get Skye -- caught Raven drinking from my home-made rum. Warned her it was 40 proof, and made her one up with ice and coke}.

--Sun 17July, 2011 : Von Hapsburg, son of last Emperor dies in Austria. Age 98. End of an era. I'd met The Queen, The Queen's Mother at RHS in the 60's. Queen Elizabeth (not of 16th cent', nor QE2) the last of her kind. None of her children measure up to Old Empire. I remain the third son of the Last Champion of British Empire. My eldest brother may have turned 62 last week and my elder 59 next Thursday, but from before Bryan Adams' song I've been nineteen for over 37years. I've watched as the world has changed drastically. The value of the amount I can buy with the value of the amount I can earn, has dropped. The technology has conned the mass of people with apparent useful ease but actually measured, often fails to provide a balanced value.
--If more violence is apparent, is there greater frustration? More sexual frustration and less community organised sports and events. Still some PCYC, but fewer and less venues without alcohol. Just here in QLD I've seen the families from NSW & VIC who holidayed in QLD in the 70's begin to move State to live here. Ostensibly for the laid-back attitude and ambience, but they bring with them their Southern city's hurry and need for larger wages. Their moving interstate to participate in the QLD way of life has mostly killed-off that very relaxedness.

--''True words aren't eloquent enough, eloquent words aren't true. Wise men don't need to prove their point, men who prove their point aren't wise. The Master has no possessions. The more he does for others the happier he is, the more he gives to others the wealthier he is. The tao nourishes by not forcing, by not dominating the Master leads.'' < Lao Tzu. >

--[Sun 4 Sept, 2011 : Father's Day.]
''Earth Mother, behold your son! Sky Mother, recognize me, your devoted servant. Father of Wisdom, speak to me, that I may hear your voice, Keeper of the Gates of Knowledge, open wide that I may enter your realm.
--Great Goddess, Queen of Life, diffusing silver light, bull-horned, and wandering through gloom of sacred Night, with silvery rays you shine; Now full-orbed, now dwindling in decline, show by your passing, the secret sign; Reveal to me the vision of your sight.''
< Hafgan in 'Taliesin', by S.R.Lawhead. >
IMG_20180602_114037-01.jpeg < Anonymous. >

--[Mon 5 Sept, 2011 :]
--''Glorious Bel, god of fire and light, Ruler of the skyways, Lord of the Underworld, And all things enduring, Hear the petitions of your servants! Eldest of Heaven, look down from your high throne, Shower the favour of your presence upon us, Give us strength, give us courage, give us valour, We who dance for you this day. Great of Might, Illuminator of the Earth, Flourish in our sacrifice, Live in our spirits, Inhabit the beauty of the dance.'' (x3)
IMG_20180602_122056-01.jpeg < Anonymous. >

~~Funeral : - ''Brothers, our Chief has begun his journey to the Other world. What will you send with him? The first druid {brother} stepped forth, raised his branch and said, 'I bring Alder, Foremost in Lineage, for assurance.' With that he placed his branch against the bough-covered bier. 'I bring Dogwood, Powerful Companion, for compassion.' 'I bring Birch, Lofty Dreamer, for high-mindedness.' 'I bring Hazel, Seed of Wisdom, for understanding.' 'I bring Elm, Great Giver, for generosity.' 'I bringChestnut, Proud Prince, for regal bearing.' 'I bring Ash, Stout-Hearted, for honesty.' 'I bring Rowan, Mountain Lord, for fairness in judgement.' 'I bring Thorny Plum, Invisible Warrior, for keenness of discernment.' 'I bring Apple, Gift of Gwydyon, for reverence.' 'I bring Oak, Mighty Monarch, for benevolence.' 'I bring Rose, Enchanter of the Wood, for honour.'
~~'Farewell, friend of our brother, you are free to go your way.' ~ He knelt and put his palms against the dirt. 'Great Mother, we give you back your son. Treat him not unkindly, for he has served his Master well.'

--''I was in many shapes before I was born :
I was sunlight on a leaf;
I was a star's beam;
I was a lantern of light on a shepard's pole.
''I was a sound on the wind;
I was a word;
I was a book of words.
''I was a bridge across seven rivers;
I was a path in the sea;
I was a coracle on the water,
a leather boat that plowed bright waves.
''I was a bubble in beer,
a fleck of foam in my father's cup.
''I was a string in a bard's harp for nine nines of years;
I was a melody on a maiden's lips.
''I was a spark in fire,
a flame in a bonfire at Beltane. . . .''

< from - Taliesin by S.R.Lawhead. >

--Lest we Forget. May the blessings be.

''He That Plays With Fire May Be Burnt.''

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center