On @thegaillery's The Confidence Project

DQmcZAQmZQguGmJQjcaM4ENzaL84uYUYMad2aa8XXv7JVRi_1680x8400.jpeg
Image Source

Hello Steemians!

This post is a conjunction post of @thegaillery's The Confidence Project. This is also my perspective of her Manifesto, which was well-written and referenced that made me believe in the credibility of the author. I might be slightly biased because she's my friend, but I will try to explain as much as I can why I decided to support this project.

Since this is a conjunction post, all SBD rewards that this post will incur will be added to the reward pool of the first takeaway. Depending on the reward of this post and the reward of her first post, I might also add some SBDs from my own wallet. This is my testament that this project will really help you in building your confidence.


MY BACKGROUND AND BASIS


I have been socially-awkward since I can remember. One of the reasons why I am like this is because I don't have the courage to socialize. I have a stage fright that standing in front of the audience is a torture. Shivers will come from the back of my head down to my spine. Shaking will then follow to the point that standing straight is a struggle. Then cold sweat will drip down in my forehead and my hands will be cold and numb. I really hate that kind of sensation that I stayed away from speaking engagements.

And then there's The Confidence Project. When @thegaillery told me about this, we were on a jeep on our way home. We were across each and while talking, people are looking at us. She might not noticed it because she's so into explaining her proposed project. I didn't mind the eavesdropping passengers because I also wanted to learn more about the project. I observed that confidence in her when she explained the details of the project. It means she knows what she's doing.

She told me that there are two kinds of self confidence. Before, I thought that it's either we have self confidence or we don't. I thought that being able to speak in public is self confidence. What she explained to me was that even saying things like "I am good in math.", "I have a good body.", or "I am handsome/pretty." is self confidence. I was enlightened that knowing want you can do or can't is self confidence.


ABOUT THE CONFIDENCE PROJECT MANIFESTO


Because she has explained so well, the team (our network of steemians) believed in her and in her project. The Manifesto was then posted and it was curied! It means that not only our team believes in the project. It means that the larger community believes in what the project will bring. If I may quote one of the comments in the Manifesto, it goes like this:

I love this idea! So cool that you are collaborating on this project with real world friends and sharing your time and energy and love with us here on Steem. -@carlgnash

Take note that the comment came from one of the top curators in the @curie community. This made believe that the project will reach a wider audience.

Further scrutinizing the Manifesto, I realized that the project is rooted to the personal experience of the author. In that post, the author claimed that, together with her team, they were not psychologists, but they're confident in what they're good at: researching. I can attest to that because we came from the same background and training.


THE TAKEAWAYS


The takeaways are based on real academic studies that is related to the topic that they want to discuss. What makes it concrete for me is that it goes beyond scientific studies. In the Manifesto she mentioned that scientific claims about self confidence will be illustrated by their personal experience. For me, this is what makes the project more relatable. It means that a scientific finding, coupled with personal experiences will solidify the claim of the author.

The takeaways are already good in themselves. You can already have a gist of what the author means be self confidence. But it doesn't stop from there. This leads to the next part of the project which will bring holistic approach to the whole project.


THE CHALLENGES


This will complete the whole experience when you want to take part in this project. If this project would have ended in the Takeaways, it would have been a passive approach. But because the readers were given the chance to experience what the authors might have experienced, this becomes an active approach. If you are to be skeptical about the project, then join at least until the fifth takeaway. This will be a perfect time for you to prove if the authors really mean what they say.

If you just complete the challenge, I bet you will have better view about yourself and your capacities which will lead you to greater self confidence. This self confidence of course is the one defined by the authors and not your old notion.


CONCLUSION


I have self confidence issues, so I will join the challenges of every takeaway. I am not after for the monetary reward but for the value that it brings to me. In this project, the prize for the chosen winners is just secondary. The primary goal is to add value to every steemian out there.

I urge everyone to join this initiative. If you think that your issues does not concern with self confidence, then think again. Especially to those who are new to blogging or new here on steemit, this is your chance to discover more about yourselves. After all, this project does not only entail self confidence, but also a journey to self discovery.

Please support this project. I will really appreciate it if you can join. Also, please visit @thegaillery's blog for more details about her initiative. Also, please let me know in the comments what you think.

Thank you very much!

Best Regards,
@ybanezkim26

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center