Getting my Linux working again

I have been using Linux as my main home operating system for many years. I have been through various distributions including Red Hat, Mandrake and Knoppix before eventually settling with Ubuntu. That was back in about 2005 and I have upgraded through the years. A few times I have had to do a fresh install when thngs went wrong, but it has generally 'just worked'. The latest upgrade to 19.10 had some issues though. It appeared to work, but then the PC would not boot properly. It would get stuck on the Ubuntu splash screen and no further. I tried making a live booting flash drive to fix this, but it was just not right.

I had to resort to using Windows 10, which is also on this PC, but very rarely used. As most of what I do is in a browser this was no big deal, but I missed Linux. I had been wanting to get back into recording some music, so I decided to try Ubuntu Studio. I have used this before. It is optimised for audio as you do not want system processes messing up your recordings. It also comes with all the software you need, including the amazing Ardour audio workstation and lots of plug-ins.

Studio does have a lovely wallpaper featuring the current Ubuntu mascot.

Mascot

I still had to install a few things to make life bearable that included:

  • Brave web browser.
  • eSteem.
  • Rhythmbox music player.
  • Driver for my Brother laser printer. That was a download from their site and easy to install.

Linux is generally user friendly these days, but you do sometimes have to resort to the command line. There are hundreds of apps available from the software 'store' and a lot of hardware is supported. Sometimes it is actually easier to get things done than in Windows. I cannot speak for Macs as I do not use them.

I need to get my M-Audio Fasttrack Pro audio interface working. You generally have to tweak some settings to get recording working smoothly. I have another M-Audio interface that is a PCI card, but I had issues with it on this PC.

Fasttrack

I also have my Korg nanoKontrol (link is to newer version). This is handy to mute and solo tracks as well as some mixing duties.

nanoKontrol

I really do have all the tools I need to record music, but need to work on the necessary skills to get good results.

Rock on!

The geeky guitarist and facilitator of the 10K Minnows Project.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency