Some freeware to add to my computer cleanup toolkit

I managed to stumble into the organization phrozen and learned they have some useful tools it seems. In particular I’m interested in Winja which is utilizing VirusTotal for checking files against MANY antivirus scanners. This will be convenient when I’m
checking lots of files.

Screenshot_5.png

I will say that VirusTotal can and will scare user who haven’t used it before, you need to understand that there are 66 different antivirus scanners available on VirusTotal and many of these scanners have biases and very different rules on what they call a threat. Since VirusTotal only offers a true of false-like result for these you can often see the less popular Antivirus scanners will report known good files as malicious or as a threat. Virus total can also provide an interface for file information that is a bit more accessible (as well as portable) than what windows offers in explorer. You can easily see the signer of the file if it has one and then do research on that signer so you can arrive at your own conclusion of the executable’s safeness virus total also provides an easy way to vote away a false positive but you shouldn’t rely on this information alone.

In short, always do your own research but tools like these sure make the process faster.

logo-small[1].png
Screenshot_4.png

I plan to use this tool in addition with dozens of other tools (some freeware and some paid) for cleaning up customers computers at my computer repair shop. Let me know if you know of other tools and if you like this post be sure to upvote it and I will share more of the tools I’m using to help my customers.

Screenshot_3.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center