Kevin Hart: What Now? (stand up comedy): He's one of the best

I have been going through a bunch of Netflix stand-up comedy specials lately because there are a lot of them. Some of them have been really good, and some of them have just plain sucked. I like stand-up because it tends to be an hour special, which is the perfect length of time for me.


source

The special starts out in an unusual way in that it is a James Bond type spoof where some other big names in Hollywood have some fun cameos including Halle Berry, Don Cheadle, and Ed Helms. This is only about 10 minutes long or so but in itself it provides quite a few laughs. This then segues directly into the comedy special.

I somehow managed to miss out on this for many years because this is not new and apparently it was released in theaters and originally was an absolutely massive venue with a crowd of over 50,000 people in the Philadelphia Eagles football stadium.


source

Has this ever been done before? Because I don't recall ever seeing a venue this big for stand-up comedy.


source

Kevin's comedy is almost entirely situational and based on his own life experiences which have almost certainly been "tweaked" a bit to make them funnier. During the show he uses some giant screens to enhance what he is talking about but it isn't overused. I think it was probably very necessary seeing as how some of the attendees were likely so far away from the stage that they couldn't even see him.

He steers completely away from current events and politics, which is nice because for me personally that sort of stuff just kind of irritates me when comedians seem to want to use their stage and stardom to try to indoctrinate their audience. I think it is lazy comedy especially if they are performing in what is a well-known city that has a particular political ideology.

Anyway, despite the fact that I was watching this special alone in my apartment, I laughed so loud at times that my dog came to check on me to make sure nothing was wrong.

This is one of the funniest things I have seen in a long time as far as stand up is concerned and it certainly gets the gooddream stamp of approval.

"Wowsers!"


For anyone keeping track the really good comedy that I have seen recently includes this one and

  • Adam Sandler: 100% Fresh
  • Joe Rogan: Strange Times
  • Dave Chappelle: Equanimity

The "decent" stuff I have seen includes

  • Ellen Degeneres: Relatable
  • Ken Jeong: You Complete me, Ho

And the really not so good to awful stand up is

  • Amy Schumer: The Leather Special (quite possibly the most unfunny thing I have ever seen)
  • Donald Glover: Weirdo
  • Hannibal Buress: Comedy Camisado
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center