Green Purslane

Thurday color is green, so I used Green Purslane as my photo today for my entry sponsored by @kalemandra.

FB_IMG_1526680320055.jpg

This photo was captured by me when I went to Supermarket to buy some snacks for my self because that time I'm so much hungry.

Purslane also known as verdolaga, red roots or pursley. In Philippines, we cut these in our backyard because we thought it's only a grass or wed. A common plant or native in India also known to them as sanhti or kulfa. It can be eaten as leaf vegetable. It has a sour and salty taste and used as fresh salad, fried or cooked as spinach. The sour taste is due to oxalic and malic acid.

20180524_011005.png
Image source

Here are the benefits that we can get from purslane:

  1. Rich in fiber, vitamins and minerals
  2. Fresh leaves contains omega 3 fatty acids
  3. Excellent source of Vit.A
  4. Rich source of Vit. C and B complex

Purslane can be kept in fridge for about 2-4 days. It should be eaten while the leaves are fresh.

Note: People with oxalate urinary tract stones are advised to avoid eating purslane.

That's all steemians, again a big thanks to @kalemandra for sponsoring this contest. Let's help one another here.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center