Field of Daisies Painting: Color Challenge Green Thursday

Shiloh Lenox_Christie Snelson.jpg

This painting was actually born from a landscape photography contest I ran a last May. I was very pleased to paint the winning photo by Shiloh Lenox. Words from the photographer about her photo:

"I discovered the barn one day while looking for my dog who had run off not long after I moved to that house. I had heard that there was an old home place back there but hadn't searched it out yet. So when I walked behind my house through the field then through the woods, and I saw the old barn with the creek running behind it and an old house with the cook stove still in it and all of the flowers in bloom. You can imagine how I must have felt. Felt as though I had just been given a secret gift. I was coming out of a horrible marriage and was living alone pretty much as a hermit and that barn and that place was a big part of my healing. It was my solace without a doubt."

I started it immediately.

Landscape WinneR_progress_Christie Snelson.jpg

I was excited to give this painting to her especially since she told me it would hang in her home to serve as a reminder of all the good she's encountered in her life.

Shiloh Lenox_cropped_Christie Snelson.jpg

I'm thinking I might come up with a similar contest for you Steemians. Any interest?

Thanks for looking!

christie snelson sized copy.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center