For the love of Depression Glass

20181221_130424_LLS.jpg

I dearly love that my parents worked very hard in the 70s to collect this set of Depression glass for me. This time of year it really makes a nice table setting. It was produce in the 20s till the 40s and sold at dime stores and given away in theaters, gas stations (for oil changes) and other stores after a purchase of a set amount.

There are several patterns and colors. Royal or Lace Edge, Princess, Modern, Mayfair, American Sweetheart and Cameo, just to name a few. Colors also were part of the love of this glass. Pink which came in several hues, green, yellow and blue.

While my dining table is just a sample of my collection, you can see that I have many more pieces.

20181221_130146_LLS.jpg20181221_130244_LLS.jpg

Sorry my pictures are side ways seems I have this issue all the time.

My mother kept meticulous records of each purchase. I was just a kid when they were starting this collection there wasn't internet to find it. They scoured the newspaper and other sources to locate sales of pieces. While they were collecting this pattern they were also collecting another pattern, called Royal/or Lace Edge which is also beautiful.

My pattern looks something like this, very hard to get a good picture of glass!

20181221_130516_LLS.jpg

As a PSA please if you have this type of glass DO NOT put it in a dish washer! It creates cloudy or "Sick" glass. My mother did get away with it but she didn't use the sets that much.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now