Why I Decide To Learn Coding At This Old Age

Two days ago I wrote a post on @WAfrica blog titled Arise Africa: Cheetah Africa Launch, and my true followers on Steemit knows that I'm a strong advocate for blockchain adoption in Africa. In the post I mentioned that it's important that we start to garner enough skills to be able to create value in the blockchain/cryptocurrency.

I'm not the kind of preacher who says do as I preach and not as I do.
Long story short. I have decided to start learning programming this weekend.
IMG_20180812_192645_507.JPG
Yes. I wish I had learned it 50 years ago, but I think it's not too late to start a new beginning once the tunnel vision is still clear to you.

For the last six months I have devoted my time to understand more about this technology. But I don't just want to be a consumer, I want to be able to create value too. To contribute towards its development, to be able to explore it fully well.

So you ask which language I'll start with? After a discussion with @surfyogi, I wanted to start with JavaScript but I changed my mind to start instead with the Almighty Python.

Why Python?? dance???

I'm much more interested in logic than in visuals which translate that I'm not interested in back-end coding than in front-end coding.
PicsArt_08-12-07.14.23.png
I also learned from @gutzygwin that he's taking this journey with me, so let's get out there and kick some ass.

Thanks @surfyogi for always pushing me towards those dreams I harbour. I thought it's gonna be a very difficult thing to do but I realised if I'm going to stay relevant in this industry then I'll have to have some understanding of coding so I'll be able to make inform decisions.

I'll keep you all updated with my progress. I also want to encourage everyone to gather the right skills that will keep you relevant in the blockchain ecosystem. Don't just be a consumer, Arise and Shine.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center