Learning Mandarin by using Chinese Tinder (Tan Tan)

... and Google translate!

For my upcoming trip to China on July 18th and as a responsible human Being I decided to learn some basic Mandarin beforehand.

After using an app called "Hello Chinese" I am already able to say phrases like "I am a guy" and "My family consist of 6 people." With that knowledge I should get around pretty well!

Yet well is not enough and as I am lacking real mandarin interaction I reached out to the best way to meet new people. Tinder! Chinese Tinder to be precise. TanTan.

Perks of TanTan

  • no FB required
  • 99% percent Chinese people
  • interactive conversation
  • swipe

Here's how my first proper conversation went:

image
Me: "I like bread."
Tany: "Oh, you speak Mandarin?"
Me: "Little, little." "-10°C"
Tany: "Where are you from?"
Me: "I am a German."
Me: "Where are you from?" (See: I learned a new question and copy-pasted)
Tany: "Finland"

The conversation goes on in this style. My lesson for you: if you're heading to China and want some real life interaction beforehand to practice your mandarin, get TanTan and Google translate.

PS. Tany likes bread too!

Connecting people since Tinder.

Question for my Chinese friends: What does Tany's Chinese name translates to in English?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center