RE: RE: Understanding the free market (or how you should learn to stop worrying and not be butthurt)
You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Understanding the free market (or how you should learn to stop worrying and not be butthurt)

RE: Understanding the free market (or how you should learn to stop worrying and not be butthurt)

I find this to be a thought provoking discussion :)
I myself am inclined to be a bit of an anti-moralist. That isn't to suggest I am a bad person. I care for my friends, and my family, and those I value and trust, just as much as the next person (side note: is having a sense of morality based in empathy?), but that I care isn't because I should, or ought, to care.
The idea that you should do x, y or z is often a regulating statement. It is, and often has been historically, a provision or edifice, or expression, of power.
It is often used to morally abuse, regulate, to shame, or to put people in there place, all in the name of what you should do, because its what is self evidently right or good.
And it is currently a prevalent, and often abused, part of our online social world. The naming and shaming all in the name of what is right, good or proper and decent (won't anyone think of the children!) occurs on the left, right, and in the centre, on a daily basis, again and again.
And yet, I care for my friends, family, and those I trust, not because I should care. I do so, just because I do. And if I cared only because I should care, it wouldn't be the same at all now would it?

Note - I still teach my children right and wrong (funny that. Like i said, am a bit of an anti-moralist). I guess establishing reasons for good behaviour and asking how we should act is still important, it establishes ethical principles. Yet, it is true that its a very short step from a principle to a standard.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center