CineTV Contest : Where Is My Mind?

This is my entry for the @cinetv Contest

Hello everyone, I got to know about this contest because I'm a regular player of Rising Star Game. This week they have collabed with each other and what can be more exciting? So Here's my entry to the contest.

Movie : Fight Club (1999)
p23069_p_v8_af.jpg

Image Source

Fight Club is one of my favorite movies of all time and the most favorite part of the movie is when the song 'Where Is My Mind' starts playing in the background. This song happens to start playing at the climax scene of the movie though. The narrator suffers from insomnia, hallucinations and some other mental health problems. When the narrator realizes that he himself is Tyler Durden he also realizes what else he has created during his suffering. In the climax scene the narrator shoots himself in the mouth in order to end his alter ego. He loses his Jaw badly in the process but he doesn't die though. Fast forward to the main scene, Marla, the girlfriend of the narrator stands next to him and he holds her hand where the intro of the song starts with guitar. The narrator delivers the most iconic dialogue "You met me at a very strange time in my life." And that's where the vocals of the song hit. And the camera comes from behind them with their back view showing them standing on the top floor of the building holding each other's hand while watching other buildings collapsing in which the narrator had set time Bombs.

Where Is My Mind - Pixies


Song by American alt rock band Pixies written by Black Francis

The song is very relatable to every person on the earth. We all are searching our minds at one or multiple points in our life. Medium tempo with guitar riffs, drums and that 'ooh' in the background haunt us long after the song is over.

The songwriter has expressed his dark thoughts and the song speaks about the uncertain peace in the chaos.

With your feet on the air and your head on the ground
Try this trick and spin it, yeah
Your head will collapse
But there's nothing in it
And you'll ask yourself
Where is my mind?
Where is my mind?
Where is my mind?
Way out in the water
See it swimmin'

This part of the song describes the position of the body which is very contradictory to the saying "Feet on the ground and Head in the clouds." That means when you are going through your hard times you will find yourself looking for your mind. Today, we are living in the era where mental health issues are on peak. The song writer Black Francis looks himself from the third person's point of view as he is losing his old self drifting away from himself way out in the water swimming.
In the movie, the narrator has also lost his mind. He doesn't know what he is doing still he goes on with his life. The same daily routine of 9 to 5 and the cruel boss plus he is always half sleepy and half awake because of insomnia. And in the end he realizes that he has built a world of himself.

I was swimmin’ in the Caribbean
Animals were hiding behind the rocks
Except the little fish
Bumped into me, I swear he was trying to talk to me, koi-koi

This part of the song tells the story of Black Francis when he was snorkeling in the Caribbean and this little fish was chasing him.

Conclusion :
The song is very relatable to the narrator of the story in the movie and all of us to be honest. And it fits perfectly in the climax scene. If we consider ourselves or this whole world as a one then we all are truly lost in this universe. If we consider ourself as an individual everyone is lost in something and it's a sad fact. But we as a human beings, are very lucky to get such music to cheer up in our life through any kind of emotions and 'Where Is My Mind?' is one of those great songs which help us go through some situations. To be honest, "This song met me at a very strange time in my life." I don't know if I am going to win this contest or not but the song will remain the best song used in a movie.

P.S. :
I didn't talk about the Fight Club while writing this post because the first rule of Fight Club is you do not talk about Fight Club.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency