Krebensis Cichlid and fry.

Krebensis Cichlid and fry.

As most of you know by now, I do love my tropical fish, on which I have written a few posts before.

Today I am writing about another very interesting fish, called a Krebensis. The Krebensis is a dwarf Cichlid or Malawi as they are know. They however do not come from Malawi, but are endemic to Nigeria and Cameroon. They are also know as Rainbow Kribs.

These are colorful fish and the female, gets a large purple spot on her belly, which becomes more prominent during breeding and courtship!!

They love to stay in caves, where they also have their babies. A male and female will normally stay together until one of them dies.

They are great parents and stays with the fry for about two weeks. During this time they become aggressive and chase away all other fish, that dares to come close.

In the video you can see the parents and their fry swimming in my tank, which they share with some other fish. The small specks floating in the water, is some hard boiled egg yolk, which I squashed fine and then fed to the fish.

I love to watch this family of fish swimming in the tank.

I hope you enjoyed the post, have a wonderful day!!

Stay Safe!

PHC-Footer-05.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now