Family extension

I have been renting places in Manila for about 18 years and counting due to work. Within that span of time, I have been with different residence addresses. The longest stay I had in a residence is eleven years and counting. The second longest was more than five years and there was where my landlady used to maintain giving gifts to us every Christmas season. What made me stay that long with these land ladies? They treated me like a member of their family. I kept that in mind when I started my small real estate leasing business few years ago.

20181222_203017P.jpg
Few days ago, I was having a hard time thinking about what to buy when I passed by piles of these boxes. I thought they were cut and practical for a gift - a pair of salad bowls. What's cool is that there are three designs so that would somehow make a variety for the boarders. Plus, it is something that they wanted - something to be used and not eaten.

Aside from the business that the tenants bring, they become part of our family in the long run. There were cases when couples come to me with their problems which sounds funny because I thought they should know better than a single person. At times, we invite all of them when we have special occassion and they do the same to us. When shyness strikes and we do not go down to their units, they would deliver the foods to us. Majority of them have been with us for years and counting. A couple even had their two sons and they are still with us. The boys will be christened in January.

20181222_202846P.jpg
20181222_202759P.jpg
The silly and lazy part of me tried to strike. I thought of not wrapping these and just hand the boxes to them. But there won't be any suspense at all and that sounds boring, yeah? Okay, so I worked on the wrapping at night when I brought them home. Here's for a start.

During the first Christmas season when I thought of giving something to them, I was lazy and running out of time before the Christmas day itself. When I saw cute boxes of cheese balls with tag ready as a gift in the grocery store, I did not think twice. I bought a dozen and distributed to them.

20181222_231624P.jpg
Half-way done. I'm sleepy.

In November the following year, I was having a chat with them and we came to the topic of what will I be giving away come December. I laughed and said, "I don't know yet." Then they opened up that they would better appreciate something to be used rather than something to be eaten. That is because, as they said, something to be used can remain souvenir or remembrance from us while food will be consumed and gone very soon. They added that they will have something to remember staying in our house if ever they leave for whatever reason.

20181223_010840P.jpg
All wrapped up but the gift tags and the mess can wait later. I'm about to sleep on them. It's pass one o'clock in the morning.

I was happy with the fact that they were so comfortable telling me what they want. But hey, they like staying in our house. That was more heart warming. Since then, I heeded what they wanted: non-edible gift.

20181224_120142P.jpg
All set. Ready for distribution.

I take this every season as an opportunity to thank them for the business and for trusting and staying with us for long term. It is a small gesture but I hope it helps to show our appreciation. After all, this is a time of giving. 😊

Fedrosa.jpg
~From Balay Fedrosa~


Join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside) AND the latest update <<< please click to read.


Upvote Follow Resteem @macoolette

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center