My brother with his STEEM Gift card on Christmas Eve (He's smiling even more now!)

So as my regular followers will know, I decided to buy my younger brother STEEM for Christmas this holiday season. With the recent surge in the price, I must say it has worked out even better than anticipated! (Although I think we're only seeing the beginning of where STEEM can go in 2018).

No more than 20 days ago, STEEM was at 1.50$ and I wrote this article on why I think it was the perfect time to buy STEEM cheap, why giving someone STEEM as a gift would be great for the token, and also how you could do the same.

A few days later, @howo and I launched steemgifts.com, an online service that lets anyone create a new STEEM account, with an amount of STEEM that you want to give as a gift, and where we will send you a holiday-themed gift card by mail. You can read more about the STEEM giftcard service in my post here.

Anyways, on Christmas eve I had packed the gift card that I printed using our new service and packed it in a box for my brother. I was still very curious to see his reaction and whether he would understand what he had received.

trygve steemit steemgifts steem giftcard.jpg
My brother Trygve holding his STEEM Gift card that he got from me for Christmas
Picture taken by me on the 24th

At first, he seemed rather confused. It is important to know that for many years I've been pranking him with different presents that made no sense, only for there to be some money or a gift card hidden somewhere. This time, however, there was no catch. Behind the gift card was a closed envelope with all the different keys he will need for his new account and also the email I set up for him. It was funny to watch him open it, probably expecting to find some cash or a letter telling him what the "real" gift was going to be. It's safe to say all the letters didn't make a lot of sense to him, but as he knew I had been trading cryptos for a while he did eventually guess that it had something to do with it.

I could then brag that his gift was now worth twice as much as what I had originally purchased it for (going from 1.5$ to 3$), making it the most expensive gift he had ever received from me by a long shot! Looking at coinmarketcap again this morning in sheer disbelief, I believe that gift is now more or less the same that I've spent on all the gifts I have bought him for Christmas before, combined. Safe to say that the little man is starting to realize it was a pretty awesome gift indeed!

STEEM 6.25 dollars steemit.png
STEEM at 6.25$ this morning
Screenshot from my phone

As mentioned, I still think we're just getting started to see STEEM go up, and can expect a lot more in 2018. Looking at the market cap of cryptos, most currencies above STEEM have very little to show for relatively speaking in terms of users, a working product and new developments. So my bet is that we will see STEEM in the top 15 by the summer. So I look forward to seeing where we will go when Smart Media Tokens gets launched together with Communities early this year. How much fuel can it add to the current fire you think? Can we see STEEM in the top 10 by the end of the year? If so, what would it take?

I hope you've all enjoyed a happy new year and that you will have a great 2018. From the point of view of a steemian, I guess the year is looking great so far :D

@fredrikaa

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center