Update #13 to " China says I'm too old"

IMG_20170921_140654_HDR_crop-redacted.jpg
One of the long-awaited Chinese verification seals

Yesterday, I received the second of two document authentications from the Chinese consulates. So, my long wait for a new Chinese work visa is nearly over.

If you've been following my chronicle of abruptly being "retired" as a foreign English teacher in China, you'll recall that I had to return to the USA and apply for a new work visa. Since early July, I've had to get my university diploma and a report of no criminal activity authenticated (or legalized) at the local, state, and federal levels before I could even submit them to Chinese consul officials for their seal of approval.

The diploma arrived last week. The no-criminal activity report arrived yesterday. I have scanned both sets of documents and emailed them to my employer in Henan province. They will apply for a preliminary work permit on my behalf, which I need to submit along with my visa application.

That process should take a few days. Once I have those work papers, I'll be able to apply for the Z visa, which will likely take another four or five days for processing. So, with luck, I'll have the visa by the end of this month.

China's National Holiday is the first week of October. Classes are suspended during that time, so I plan to fly to China sometime during that week to begin teaching Oct. 10 -- if everything goes smoothly.

It's hard for me to express how anxious I have been during this summer. While I have been able to spend some real quality time with my children, and do some writing and freelance editing, the lack of a regular paycheck has preyed on my mind. I've been living off my crypto-investments quite literally. I am so glad I had the foresight to buy Bitcoin, Litecoin and other digital assets when the prices were low. Otherwise, my financial situation would be dire.

This time "between jobs" has been the longest vacation from work I've ever had since I left college nearly 40 years ago, and I've decided that maybe I am not quite ready for retirement. I miss being in the classroom and working with students.

Also, I miss China. I had intended to stay there another year at least, so having to leave so suddenly in June was heart-wrenching. Now, I hope to tell you all about my new adventures there beginning next month.

By the way, if anyone here is interesting in teaching in China, I've written a how-to guide about getting all your documents authenticated. It's on my blog at http://www.wheatdogg.com/how-to-apply-for-a-chinese-work-z-visa/

Don't forget to upvote, resteem and comment! Thanks!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now