How to Write with a Gold Nugget

How to write with a gold nugget is not to write with one in mind. I know that sounds contradictory but it seems to work for me. Rather, concentrate on writing the best story that you possibly can.

For instance, write as if you are experiencing your characters’ pain, joy, humor or seriousness. Spend time visualizing your characters as if you were living their lives. Then try to write with incredible passion knowing just what those characters would say or do.

Putting unpredictable twists in your story in not that easy but makes an incredibly good story. It's a lot of work to think of something original where people aren’t going to guess what happens next. Doing this takes a bit of patience, but if you let your mind dwell on the problem in the story long enough an idea will eventually come to you.

Good dialogue is also essential. If it is realistic, try to put in a conversation that could very likely and logically take place. If it is humorous, test it on your friends to see if they think it is funny.

When I write I remind myself to bring out the themes in my story, whether it is freedom, courage, betrayal, or forgiveness. This is mostly revealed in the more significant things my characters say in the story as a result of how the plot plays out.

After my story is written I may not even see it right away, but I know there is a gold nugget in my writing, and maybe more than one. Gold nuggets for me come unexpectedly in roundabout ways. Does anyone know what I am referring to? I think it is the messages found in one’s writing that one didn’t expect to find. To me that is a gold nugget.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center