4 Chess Strategies that Can Make you More Successful with Money (and Steemit)!

4-ways-chess-money-steemit.jpg

Chess is a beautiful game and offers many strategies that can apply to life. Here are 4 chess strategies that can make you more successful with money (and here on steemit too!)

1) Begin with the End in Mind

From the very first move in chess, you should have the end in mind. (A glorious checkmate of your opponent’s king!)

To do that, your first moves should be logical, calculated and follow general strategic principles.

fischer-e4-v2.jpg
Bobby Fischer's favorite move! "e4 is always best!" (Source: flickr, user Abode of Chaos)

As white, moving your king’s pawn up two squares is always a great first move. You’re unleashing your bishop and queen, you are staking a claim in the center and you already have your sights set on your opponent’s king.

Furthermore, you have already laid the first brick of your position’s foundation.

A similar strategy applies to money. And to steemit, too right?

Right?!

2) Learn from your Mistakes

chess-mistakes.jpg
Don't get mad! Analyze, learn and get better! (Source: Uncyclopedia.com)

If there is one thing that chess has taught me, it is to learn from my mistakes. I make mistakes in every single game I play.

However, I make it a policy to always try to analyze my moves after, especially after a defeat. Doing that makes it far less likely that I will make the same mistake again.

And next time, I hopefully will make stronger moves.

So it is with your money. Steemit too!

3) Make Sacrifices Wisely

In chess, there is nothing better than making a wild sacrificial attack that culminates in victory.

However, the best sacrifices in chess are either 1) made to secure a long-term advantage or; 2)calculated completely until you've given checkmate and won!

queen-sacrifice.jpg
The queen sacrifice that Magnus Carlsen made to win the world championship this year! Can you see what happens after black takes the queen?

With regard to your money and making wise sacrifices, I will use a steemit analogy:

We are all sacrificing our time here, right? I would ask you: do you know exactly why you are sacrificing your time here? Exactly what you are sacrificing your time here for?

You should!

If it’s a certain amount of money? How much? By when?

What do you need to calculate out so that your investment of time and money is going to result in more money?

And what do you need to learn so that you can make these sacrifices wisely? Here on steemit, is it your posting strategy? Commenting? Perhaps you want to be a witness and need to learn how to set up and manage a linux server?

Sacrifice your time and energy wisely, steemians!

4) Never Give Up!

When I am losing in chess I sometimes make my opponents angry because I do not resign in hopelessly lost positions.

You could be getting slaughtered and still have a way out.

crazy-stalemate-chess-money-steemit-position.jpg
White is getting clobbered, but find a move for him. It's his turn and there is none. Draw!

I do not quit until the very end because if there is any glimmer of hope of even securing a draw, I am not going to give up.

If it pisses other people off, so be it.

Chess is a battle, a fight, a war! If you make it your policy to quit when you are down, you will never win in the long term.

This is true of money too, right?

You can be broke, down on your luck, living on the streets, but hey here you have found the wonderful world of steemit! Is this not a huge opportunity for you? This could be your shot.

It won’t be if you give up.

I’m not going to give up here until I either die or I’m a whale. Seriously.

How about you?

113.jpg

Make your moves wisely, my friends!

--

Thank you for reading. For more like this, please follow me! If you liked this post, please comment, resteem, and upvote!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center