Chattanooga Tennessee Bluffview Art District

Hunter Museum New.JPG

Are you looking for a wonderful way to spend an afternoon in Chattanooga, Tennessee? Visit The Hunter Museum of Art, located in the Bluff View Art District of the city.

Huntermnew.JPG

Visit me online at Findingkathybrown.com

Please Up-Vote....

I have lived in Chattanooga six years and I don't know why I waited so long to visit this beautiful place. It's not just the Museum that will have you wanting to go back for more, it's the entire Bluff View Art District. The surrounding area of the museum is complimented by outdoor art pieces, captivating architecture and fantastic restaurant options. Steve and I chose to eat at a quaint coffee shop called Rembrandts. Rembrandts offers delectable salads, wraps and sandwiches. You'll also be amazed by the incredible pastry selection. There are many other restaurant choices in the area ranging from affordable to upscale. The overall feel of the Bluff District is rich and dare I say High Class.

The Hunter Museum is the focal point of the area that sits high on a bluff that overlooks the Tennessee River. Historic mansion meets modern steel that is absolutely breathtaking to the eye. What makes these two styles blend so effortlessly is the fluidness of the structure. A work of art all in itself. Once inside there are two district areas of the museum. The mansion shows colonial period art pieces and sculptures. The modern area boosts present day art work. It's truly amazing how I can find myself walking amongst so much timeless pieces only to be stopped in my tracts when I swear a piece is speaking to me. It's hard to explain how artwork can have that effect on you. The beautiful thing about art is how people react differently to what they see. I may see a painting that is awe-inspiring to me, but yet someone else would be drawn to another painting and have that same emotional reaction. I was absorbed in timelessness and peacefulness of this place. Along your journey through the museum there are outside areas that sit high on the bluff giving you a unforgettable visual of the Tennessee River and the Walnut Street Bridge. Everyone in Chattanooga is familiar with the Walnut Street Bridge that is closed to traffic and used as a foot bridge over to the north shore of the city. People walking, jogging, riding bikes and just enjoying the day. The view from that museum is one you will not find anywhere else.

If you visit please let me know your thoughts and add to this conversation. I'd love to hear what inspired you on your visit.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center