Chalk With Me In Denver: it finally stopped snowing edition

I've been going through chalk withdrawal, y'all. It finally hasn't snowed for a few days so the sidewalks were mostly dry, and weather app says the next chance of snow or rain is a few days out, so I grabbed the precious my chalk bag and headed to Sprouts!

the gutter glacier was still present on the shadowy south side of the street, though

So the air pollution in Denver has been really bad of late - 3x worse than Beijing. An article I read said that 30-40% of it comes from oil and gas production, and another 30-40% from traffic. In case you thought Denver was all eco hippies like me and The People's Republic of Boulder.

Look at the world in different ways ...written mirror backwards. And yes, I flubbed a "d" and corrected it, lol

When we had all the wildfire smoke last summer, I was coughing so hard I thought my chest was going to cave in and I would collapse on the sidewalk. I was coughing and blowing my nose a lot today, but no more than if I was walking through a field of ragweed, so ...hooray?

If you are working yourself to exhaustion just to survive, you are not the consumer, you are the consumed.

I am seriously considering splurging on a vogmask for bad pollution days, though. And bad allergy days. It's fucked up that greed means air so polluted, you need a mask to breathe well outside. Former Gov Hickenlooper - who I call Frackenlooper, because he is firmly in the pocket of oil and gas - is running for president as an environmentalist democrat. Please don't vote for that liar.

These BAMFs calmly strolled across Colfax (a busy street) right after I took this photo. Yes, I was waving at cars to make sure they noticed, and watched until the geese were across. No fucks given. Geese are hardcore.

Quiet is a radical act in a world full of noise; noise in a world full of acquiescent silence is a revolutionary one

Well that's it from me in Denver. The cough and subsequent headache is bad enough that I think I will try the post office on a different day, sigh. But at least I have groceries, and I got my chalk fix! Peace out, Steem fam!

BAMFs

Edited to add this photo I absconded with from the "I'm From Denver" Facebook page. This is what downtown looked like the other day when the pollution was at its worst:

denver march air pollution 3x worse than beijing im from denver.jpg

PPS:

I talked to Ceci the other day on Discord and she and her family are hanging in there. I don't have a message to pass on per se, we were just shooting the shit and bitching about the state of the world, but wanted to let her friends know she's OK! :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now