ANT-LION

*****************

Greetings to all steemit community receive a warm welcome to my new post

@fusionnuclear.

*****************

This curious animal that since childhood has always called my attention I know it as an ant lion. I remember that I could not contain curiosity when I was with these peculiar holes in the earth.

20180204_104539.jpg

Investigating a little I found that scientifically they are known as mirmeleóntidos (Myrmeleontidae) are a family of the order Neuroptera, commonly known as lion ants, although they really are not ants. They are superficially similar to dragonflies.

20180204_105123.jpg

The name of "ant león león" is due to the larva, which lives in sandy soils and digs a hole in the shape of a funnel in whose bottom it hides, leaving only its jaws protruding. Small insects fall into this pit and can not leave due to the loose sand walls, so they are eaten by the ant lion.

20180215_114303.jpg

My curiosity led me to wait for a while until I saw how the ant lion behaved, on several occasions witnessing how an ant fell into the hole and desperate to get out could not do it, it was a matter of seconds and began the attack of the predator that throws earth so that the ant falls into the hole where it is taken by its jaws and suddenly disappears into the ground.

20180215_110254.jpg

I tell you a secret I still feel that attraction to observe the attack of the ant lion.

20180215_113919.jpg

Take these pictures next to my house. For some time I did not have the opportunity to meet these unique holes.

20180215_114101.jpg

Do not hesitate to take my phone and photograph this curious animal and its typical sand traps.

20180217_145114.jpg

Own photos taken with my Samsung galaxy J2 Prime1 cell phone

*****************

I hope you like it and thank you for visiting the post.

*****************

@fusionnuclear

Signature courtesy of @azorahai77

________________

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center