Cemetery Photos: Resting In Peace

My entry to #cemeteryphotos inspired by @melinda010100.

While driving to Elmira to see the Railway Museum, I saw this sign of this idyllic countryside cemetery.


image


Hubby and I stopped to look through the cemetery on the way back home. He thought maybe some of his relatives were buried there as his grandfather’s people were from this area. Cemeteries contain a wealth of genealogy information.

I, as usual, was looking for the gravestones with the Celtic Crosses on top.

Example of one style of Celtic Cross. I actually visited this ancient historic site in Monasterboice, Co, Louth when I was in Ireland about eleven years ago but lost my photos when the computer crashed.


image
source



Another Example of a Celtic Cross


image
Source



This photo is of the Celtic Crosses on my ancestors’s graves in an old cemetery in Co. Mayo, Ireland. The stone structure is what was left of an old monastery. I took the photo on a film camera when I visited in 1970’s.


image


These are the kind of symbols I was hoping to find on the top of some of the older gravestones in the Kingsboro Cemetery but they were not to be found among the various headstones.

This one in the Kingsboro Cemetery has an interesting top. I’m not sure of the meaning of the star.


image


More photos of the Kingsboro Cemetery:


image


The cemetery is in the middle of a field. You can see a potato field in the background.


image


It was a peaceful place and two people were there grooming the grounds.


image


It’s sad to see the lovely angel stone as one knows a child has been buried there.


image


I always say a little prayer when visiting these hallowed grounds. While I was stopping by the little angel stone, I saw a young woman clipping grass around another one. I asked her what denomination belonged here.

She said, “Baptist.”

Hubby and I had a chuckle as his grandfather’s people were interred in a Catholic Cemetery but it was a beautiful day and we enjoyed the visit.


In closing the walk among the gravestones, a lovely blooming bush in the cemetery


image


Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada

Photos & Text are mine unless sourced.


#thealliance




PHC-Footer-05.gif


64E124ED-E71A-4088-9788-0E836FBC0236.jpeg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center