Eleanor Plunkett

The weather cleared up today, even if we are still facing very high winds here. I stand at my kitchen sink and look out the window onto my front yard; the leaves skitter across the damp grass and create small dervishes as they go. Inwardly, my focus is just as scattered and spiraling. There is still much to do around the farm here before winter arrives. We spent the morning cutting and splitting firewood to keep our home warm, and made a significant dent on the pile. I was hoping the wind would blow ALL the leaves out of the yard... It may still, yet.

’Eleanor Plunkett’ is a favorite slow air by Irish harpist and composer, Turlough O’Carolan. It perfectly walks the line of these last weeks before the heavy frosts and winter mornings arrive: plaintive, longing, sweet, and delicately beautiful.

(Mirrored on Weku & Patreon)

650275F3-D801-4A56-AD9E-BA4D4BC2247C.jpeg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center