It's time to take away the sexist "chick flick" tag films get, and Khoobsurat actress Sonam Kapoor consents!

There's no such component as chick flicks, says Sonam Kapoor

It's time to take away the sexist "chick flick" tag films get, and Khoobsurat actress Sonam Kapoor consents!

The 32-yr-vintage actress referred to as out the reporter whilst interviewing with DNA India, announcing her film Aisha is not a "chick flick" neither is Veere di Wedding, her subsequent femme-centric film liberating in 2018.


"It’s so awful. There’s no such aspect as chick flicks. Do you call a hero’s film a stud movie? No, right? It’s so cheesy," Sonam said.


The Neerja actor regretted the reality that infrequently any A-listing heroes do movies led by means of a heroine.


"I wish that modifications very soon. Because if it is a girl-pushed film, like Khoobsurat, we need to invite Fawad (Khan) to come back and do it. Unfortunately, this is the situation proper now," she said. "I bet women want to forestall pronouncing yes to films wherein they do not have something to do."


Except Shah Rukh Khan in Dear Zindagi was an exception, the actor stated. All praises for SRK, Sonam argued that "lots of the lads do not recognize whilst you end up a woman's preferred, you are on the right manner."


Sonam stated Fawad Khan rose to repute in India after Khoobsurat got here out. "When girls remember the fact that you are like a Colin Firth or a Hugh Grant, you turn out to be a big famous person. When ladies such as you and need you, that loyalty doesn't go away," the star stated.


But while there may be an A-list hero doing a movie, does Sonam sense her display time is threatened? The actress says no.


"Screen time makes no distinction to me, as long as I have some thing to do in that a whole lot time. I may not play only a warm woman in a music. I won't be doing this kind of position as it will be a waste of my time," Sonam stated.


"But if I'm playing a Biro (in Bhaag Milkha Bhaag) or Bittu (in Delhi 6), I might as a substitute do this because there may be an arc to the individual and it makes a distinction to the tale. It's not about the display time however what you do in that screen time," the actress delivered.


"I'd as an alternative do that than 3 songs and two scenes in a film."


Sonam asserted her aim as a movie celebrity is to live genuine to herself.


"To have a feel of style is completely specific from following style blindly. That's the difference. As soon as you're proper and an character, you don't want to venture an image."


"I am just being myself, which is why it's clean. Everybody curses me for dressing up," the actress says with a chuckle.


All of Sonam's upcoming movies, such as Pad Man, the Sanjay Dutt biopic, Veere Di Wedding and Ek Ladki Ko Dekha Toh Aisa Laga, belong to a one of a kind genre. But this wasn't a deliberate selection.


"It’s not a deliberate flow. When I sign some thing, I don’t appearance again and think I can’t sign some thing similar," Sonam said. "I simply consider in doing the right element. Everybody thinks I’m certainly smart, however I’m no longer."

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now