Playing Games of Life

Indigenous Peoples’ Day

I was hanging out on Monday, tapping away at a solo campaign in Baldur’s Gate 3, when I remembered my small-time challenge to celebrate each day. Yesterday, my lady came back from a trip to see her girls out in New York, so I had company, but Saturday, I gamed all day. Running a campaign is hard, man. Just ask me about the time I championed a memecoin, sold at all time lows, and had a meager amount of coin as it ran to all-time highs a year later. Sticking with stuff is just plan difficult. I surround myself with books and notebooks with intentions and information inside, but it doesn’t always translate.

Baldur’s Gate feels like something I could do forever, cuz it’s a game. It just comes easier when you can save and reset when you mess up. Problem is, life doesn’t have that sort of button. I think that’s why we have games. To make the mundane less inane, we turn work into play. Since all work does hurt, in fact, we sometimes escape into the games too much.

So, how we do we hack it? Work is dull and rote; do different perspectives help overcome this? Of course. The poets agree; romanticize, idolize, and aggrandize. Yet some of the most inspiring accounts, overcoming trials and tribulations come from real life. I really enjoyed McFarland USA (2015) with Kevin Costner, for example. That turned out to be based on true events.

Then again, some of the good stuff teaches our history, with some embellishment. The Last of the Mohicans, was such a wonderful film to me, I received a beautiful collector’s edition copy. It had me convinced up until a recent Google search, that it was a true story. That’s most likely because it was set in the period of the French & Indian War. So, we’re still torn.

Live life to its hardest truths or take a flight of fancy in fantasy, to overcome those harsh facts. I think this post I wrote on my phone would come to clean end if I kept it real. After this much time missing chances by not sticking to it, I think the only true answer is to grab hold of your choice and let nothing separate it from you. The thought gives new meaning to old sayings. Hold on for dear life.
Hold onto it. Whatever your “it” is, hold tight and hold fast, for a dear life. For your life, dear.

The thoughts sound better in my head, with the sound of my voice, as they appear on the phone screen thanks to my tapping thumbs, as if telepathically between my mind and device. What’s to say this device isn’t part of mind, with how I peer into it day in and day out.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center