Celebrate October Write - Model T, I'll never own a Ford, and tires for the Jeep

Choices.

Early 1900s. Everyone likes choices. And that means ~~good ~~news for the customer.

I believe it was the rapping Confucius* who once said:

“Any color the customer wants,

as long as it's black.”

It feels like the summer went just as quickly as it came. And although we're still getting some proper lovely weather for being Autumn.. I can't quite believe we're already to the first of October.

You know what that means don't you?

You may be thinking 'ooohyoubetcha it's for punkin chais, boots w the fur and bulk Halloween candy'..

but wait still my boy, we've only just begun the month.

Wake up.

It's the first of the month.

So cash your checks and come up.

And that is JUST what you would've done had you the choice of 'Black' for your new Model T.

Today, October 1st is 'Model T Day' so it only seems proper to give a little shout to mister Henry Ford of the Ford Motor Company. Looking back today you have to appreciate the thoughtful genius that Henry was, in giving customers exactly what they would choose given the choice, and without burdening them with such decision.

I probably will never own a Ford. I just don't like the Mustangs enough, and I'm not sure about those Fiestas either. For now.

But I did earn a bit of grease and dirt today nonetheless. My Jeep has been sitting for a few weeks. Okay it's been more like months - what are you my mother? At first all it needed was a fresh battery.. and once we were all good to go on that end we drove right over a big fucking nail. "Go figure" or "That's life" would be appropriate here.

So after procrastinating/ignoring the issue for long enough, we'd find ourselves picking up a freshy set of Procomp XTreme MTs in 37"s wrapped over a glossy hardly curbrashed 20" wheel.. and I must say, I'd almost admit that I like the design of the new wheels over the ones we're replacing. I hope that these new wheels will work out for a while. When swapping them over it looks like we get a bit more sidewall at the same time that the width comes in a few inches. This should lend itself to a bit better handling and saving a few bucks at the pump too. So while I don't and won't own a Ford - I can say I did get my hands dirty and had a beer with a buddy who helped me swap everything over. At the end of the day you can't ask for too much more. Except another beer.


I'm doing this writing challenge as a way to wake up my brain a bit.. Over this next month I'm challenging myself to show up on here and share a few thoughts. As for the challenge, the 'rules' of engagement are more like guidelines. We'll refer to a daily holiday calendar and pick a few things to write about.. or maybe something else all together.

Do you accept the challenge?

Remember to use the tag #CelebrateOctoberWrite and share the challenge with your friends!

Cheers to the hive for now,

peace and love

BJM

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center