I lost a friend

I honestly don't post quite often. I prefer contributing to Hive in other ways than simply posting. Most of my posts are usually my reports regarding new developments I have with my projects and so forth.

But I wanted to post today, to get something off of my chest. I don't know if you have followed me long enough but I have... or had a cat.

image.png

This annoying monster was four and a half years old. But unfortunately, just a few weeks before his fifth birthday, he passed away, today.


I know that most people would say "but you do realize there's been an earthquake in Turkey, right?" and think why have I never posted a single thing about that? The only answer I have is... what would it change? Just like this post about Leo.

Last week, he wasn't feeling so good. He was acting unusual and relatively weird and I took him to the vet, according to the vet, his kidneys were much bigger than how they should be. His heart was bigger than how it should be.

It took a few days, vets tried dialysis to see if his kidneys (and therefore his heart) would improve, but to no avail. His condition, PKD (Polycystic Kidney Disease) was fully genetic. There is no known treatment. There's a 70% chance of cats carrying the gene being affected by this issue and a 30% chance of not having any problems, supportive care of PKD is pretty much a coin flip. It might work, or it might not. In our case, it did not. He held on for a few days, but that was about it.

All I have left of him are just his dorky photos.

image.png

He will continue to be the profile picture for @meowcurator, which is, or was, fitting for his name.

I don't know how to cope with it really. When I stop to think about it... I do feel sad, but I did not cry. But I was taken aback when no one meowed at me when I opened the door to my house, no one jumped around. His various toys and cute kitty houses were just sitting there.

You might be thinking about how it is possible someone can get attached to a little four-legged creature in just a little over four years... I cannot give you the reply you are expecting, no one can. I was wondering the same before I also had my friend, it is something only you can figure out the answer to.

I wasn't affected by the earthquake, but this has been my earthquake, I guess.

I could not be with him in his last moments. It's an interesting feeling, I hope no one lives through it.

That's it. Just something off my chest.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center