Life with an EVO X in Canada

So I had made it to that point in my life where I could afford frivolous things. Things like cars.

For years, I drove a Honda Civic. Great little car. Super-efficient on gas, super-reliable. Nice fit and finish, it's a great all -around commuter car. But...

...kinda boring.

Well, really boring.

With my wife's blessing, I made the decision to buy my dream car - an EVO X GSR.

What a great car. Beautiful octane blue with BBS wheels and handling package. Just under 300 horsepower and a wonderful turbo that makes your stomach press into your seat.

Part of the reason I was able to get the permission slip from the wife was the amazing handling of this car in the winter. Living in Canada, winters can get pretty nasty, and I made the convincing argument that the super all-wheel control of the EVO was the best way to drive in snowy conditions.

It is. Slap some winter tires on this beast and it can handle the worst conditions. It turns as if there are some magical wizards under the hood enabling it to move in ways that just don't seem natural. Amazing. the turning ability of the EVO is its best feature.

But there are some issues.

First: Gas mileage. This car is brutal on gas. OK I admit part of it is because the turbo kick is highly addictive and just can't be resisted on any on-ramp or sharp turns. It's just too fun.

Second: Harsh ride. This car rides so rough compared to my old Civic, it can literally be tiring to drive it some days. You will feel every texture in the road. Every crack. Every bump. Now, this can be a good thing when you want to really enjoy that driving control and feel, but it does get tiresome at times.

Third: Fit and finish. You ever use a spray can to paint something? You know how you shake it and it rattles right before you spray the paint? That's what this car sounds like inside when driving. It's kinda awesome in a race rally car sort of way, but can feel kind of cheap, especially considering this isn't really a cheap car.

Fourth: Summer tires. The summer tires are awesome... in the right conditions. In Canada, they are awesome for about... two months. In the spring or fall, when temperatures hover close to freezing, they are downright scary. Imagine driving with tires made of hockey pucks . This is literally what it feels like. I'm not joking. The traction on these tires is frighteningly bad when it's cold outside. I switch to winter tires in September just to avoid any craziness.

Transmission: A five-speed. Let me say that again. Five-speed.

But the car is awesome to drive. Power and handling are worth the trade-offs. Even commuter driving from 0-60 km/h is a blast, and taking corners without slowing down is such a fun sensation. The all-wheel control is phenomenal.

Did I mention the seats? The Recaro seats are the best car seats I've ever sat in. They hug you and hold you in place perfectly. Having said that, I'm a slim guy. Some of my larger friends are not fans of the constricting feeling.

If you love driving cars, and don't mind the trade-offs, the now-discontinued EVO X GSR should be on your list of possibilities.

image source: http://farm3.staticflickr.com

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now