Which is better, classic, or modern cars?

They sure don't make them like they used to!

automobile-1867006_960_720.jpg

I've heard this thousands of times about newer cars, but is it true? When it come to styling I certainly prefer older cars, new cars just seem boring to me. While many companies design their cars to look like the classics, they just don't compare, so in terms of looks I certainly agree.

sports-car-1317645_960_720.jpg

The cars of today are certainly efficient, they can squeeze ever bit of power out of each drop of fuel. Fuel injection and advanced electronics like engine management systems make this possible. Older cars with carbureted engines are seen as wasteful, but you can get a 240Z and average in the low to mid 20s. If you're want a massive V8 your best option would certainly be new, a new Hellcat with 707 HP will get you 13 mpg in the city and 22 on the highway, while a classic Hemi would struggle to best 10 mpg, even with the lightest foot.

car-172905_960_720.jpg

New cars have tons of gadgets, power everything, heated seats, AC, and while this makes the journey more comfortable a purest may prefer the simplicity of a classic. The sound of the engine, the feel of the steering wheel and the wind in your hair, that's what you get with a classic. This one boils down to preference, there are times I enjoy the gadgets, but other times I prefer the experience of the drive.

car-interior-1834270_960_720.jpg

When it comes to safety new cars certainly have the edge, with airbags, adaptive cruise control, ABS and the countless other safety features. Classic cars were heavy, some may even have manual brakes, so they're certainly at a disadvantage. You can always focus a bit more, and enjoy that classic.

v6-2352897_960_720.jpg

Automakers today talk a lot about reliability, but with all the options and electronics are they more reliable than the cars of yesterday? From my experience, no, when I was younger I remember my family buying and old used car driving it for years with little to no issues. I personally prefer working on older cars also, with new cars you can spend hundred of dollars, or if you're a DIY person like me you can spend hours checking connections and sensors to find the issue.

car-1245706_960_720.jpg

At the end of the day its what you prefer. I love older cars, the look, the feel, to me its something special, I just don't get that same bond with a new car. Which do you prefer modern, or classic?

Source for all images used

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center