It may be Carnival, but we're just eating pancakes!

Here in the #UK and Europe we don't all celebrate #Carnival with big parties or parades (boo hiss), we just stuff our faces with pancakes.

Pancake day!

Pancake day.jpg

Boring history lesson time

"Pancake day" came from the old Christian custom of confessing sins and being absolved just before Lent, and you guessed it Shrove Tuesday was traditionally a time to use up all the milk, butter and eggs left in the kitchen. These ingredients were often used to make pancakes, which is why the English call it Pancake Day.

What sucks for me is after a bought of pancreatitis 3 years ago, I can't eat dairy or wheat; but hey the kids had fun today and that's what really matters...

Anyway that's my story about #carnival, now you can give me my badge #steemitboard :p

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center