Lightweight Survival, Bushcraft, and Camping Setup Using the Medium Alice Pack

_DSC0158.JPG

Good evening everyone! Today I wanted to write about my Medium Alice Pack and what I keep packed inside to help make my camping trips a success. It is more important now than ever to have a bag packed for emergency situations and having the right gear inside can make the difference between life and death. That is why I keep my bag packed in case something happens so I can just grab it and go!

There are several essentials that can help you survive any situation and knowing how to use them can be paramount to your success. This list is debatable, but a few items can really make a difference. A good knife, axe, and saw would be in my top 3. These items will help you prepare wood for fires, clean game and fish, build a shelter, and provide a means for self defense. A fire starting kit is also very important, and should include a firesteel and a lighter or two.

Food is also a very important part of your packing list, and I believe some form of grain or beans make a wise choice. Dried beans are very high in calories and other nutrients but don't weigh very much. Nuts or a mix of nuts and dried fruit can also be a very good choice for a calorie dense snack. I chose about a pound each of kidney beans, quinoa, and brown basmati rice for my kit. You can pack some seasonings to go along with it to make it more interesting and easy to eat. I include about 1/2 cup curry powder, 1/2 cup sea salt, and a small bag of chili powder in my kit to season what I eat. Not only do they taste good, but the spices themselves have multiple health benefits.

Water will be very important as well and it's a good idea to have a stainless steel canteen to carry and boil your water in. Not only are they very durable, but they are easy to clean and don't leave a strange aftertaste. If you've used plastic water bottles I'm sure you are aware of the sour taste they can leave in your mouth after sitting out in the sun. Keep some clean cotton rags or bandanas in your kit to filter murkier waters.

Some people may choose a rifle or shotgun to go with their kit, and they can be very valuable to your food supply. Eventually I would like to have a compact .22 LR to fit into my kit. If you are near a water source, catching fish for a steady food supply could be more productive than hunting small game. This is why I carry an ultra lite spinning rig with plenty of tackle and spare line. Small fish can be caught easily using primitive gear, and a setup like mine can bring in fish all day long. If the gear itself fails, I carry cordage and know how to make a primitive fishing reel and use natural items for hooks if need be.

Tool maintenance is also very important. If you plan on carrying them, they are useless if they rust out and become dull. I carry a Fallkniven DC4 sharpener and a leather belt preloaded with a fine stropping compound. A small bottle of mineral oil is also highly suggested. A thin coat of oil on your equipment will help them from rusting out. Animal fats can also be used if you don't have space and know how to render them.

Cordage can make constructing your campsite a breeze. I suggest carrying some paracord or jute twine in your kit. Having some premade lengths of cordage can make setting up easy. I have about four 6' lengths, a 20' length, and fresh spool of 100' in my kit. You can make a tripod for cooking and water purification, fasten your tarp or shelter quickly to trees and stakes, make a limbline for fishing, or any numerous other activities.

A spare set of clothes, socks, a towel, and some rags will also help out immensely. Carrying more than one set of spare clothes is a luxury, so choose wisely. When you're packing, consider that some items can be used for more than one purpose, and if they can be, they really deserve to be placed near the top of your list. A nice comfy jacket can be used as a pillow, a blanket, a seat cushion, or anything else the imagination can come up with. Spare socks are necessary for keeping your feet healthy and can also be used for bandages.

Speaking of bandages.. an important but underestimated item may be the first aid kit. I was a combat medic during the Iraq war and can tell you that what you carry can mean the difference between life and death. If I could fit everything into the palm of both hands, I would include some kerlix, ace wraps, kravats or bandanas, hemostats, trauma shears, tape, and a blend of essential oils for healing and purification. I also carry a book on common medicinal herbs for regions I frequent.

I plan on doing reviews on each item I've included, so please share any questions or comments and I will look forward to getting back with you!!

_DSC0155.JPG

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center