A great school in Neak Luong

After more then 1 and a half years after leaving Cambodia I finally make this post. I don't know what took me so long.

I had the great chance to be an English teacher at Smart Kids International School in Neak Luong.
It is a remote village in the south of Cambodia.

The kids were amzing. They were poor in comparison to us, but they had very big hearts. They were happy most of the time and studying diligently. Every day they were repeating the numbers form one to one hundred and they did their best to get used to the right pronounciation.

It was fun to be their teacher. At first they were very shy and watched me from afar, but slowly they opened up and came closer to interact with me. They asked me basic questions. How old are you? Do you like Cambodia? What is your favorite food is? How long are you going to stay? Do you have a girlfriend? :) It was fun to be around them.

The principle also treated me kindly. He arranged a room for me 50 meter from the school. It was for free so I could teach at his school. I was the first foreign teacher there. Most of the kids have never seen a Westerner before and a lot of the little boys and girls made big eyes the first time they saw me on the corridor.

The spoken English of many teachers wasn't the best, it was hard for us to interact with each other, but we managed.

They also taught me how to count to 100 and a few basic sentences which unfortunatly I forgot.

Some of the children I still remember more specifically. The son of the principle especially(I struggle with names sometimes). I hope you are doing fine. Warm greetings from Austria to everyone.

Thank your for the nice time we spend together. For the trip we had to the national park and to Phnom Penh, for the food and the warm welcome.

Safe travels
Cosmin

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center