How to Create a Tag Reward on SteemIt?

The Vagabond Spirit game is a map based game in which vagabonds wander around the globe and discover new things.

The central feature of the game is a Vagabond Map. The Vagabond Map is just nodes from Open Street Map.

I was thinking of generating interest in the game by creating an ongoing SteemIt Contest that has the goal of putting dots on the map. The contest would use the currently unused tag: #dotonmap. (Would it be better to use a dash in the tag: #dot-on-map?)

For the contest, Steemians would write short articles about places using the tag.

The question I have at the moment is what is the best way to compensate people for participating in a #tag contest?

My first impulse is to try and reward people with upvotes. My upvote is worth less than a penny.

I could rent SP, but I fear I wouldn't get a decent ROI. I could set a Steem Bounty .

I could also just use the transfer button and reward people directly. The problem here is that STEEM is hard to come by. It took me 262 days to earn 50 STEEM on @yintercept. Any reward worth merit would exhaust my account.

The harsh financial reality is that I could not host a contest where I spent more than I received.

On the upside, I suspect that a large number of Steemians are actually looking for things to blog about.

A #DotOnMap contest simply suggests that people take a picture of something interesting and write a colorful article about it. If I like the article I will resteem it, upvote it and might give a tiny reward such as 0.1 STEEM or 0.1 SBD.

Any other thoughts about how I could make a #tag reward worthwhile (without having to borrow money)?

adom.png

The map image came from Open Street Map. The lettering came from Picture to People

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center