Gratitude Day 13/62: NYSC

I did my NYSC in Ibadan in the year 2013. NYSC is National Youth Service Corps. It's a one-year mandatory service to the country. The purpose of the Scheme is to unite the country. It was created by Gen. Yakubu Gowon after the Nigerian Civil war. The way it works is simple: graduates from Nigerian Universities are transferred to another locations/states within the country to work and serve their country for one year.

NYSC starts with a three-week orientation camp. In the orientation camps, the youths undergo basic training to prepare them for the real world. Thereafter the government shuffles them to different PPAs(Place of Primary Assignments) where they would serve their country for one year.

Today I want to thank God for my NYSC experience.

During my Orientation Camp, I learned a lot, mostly from the people I came in contact with.

FB_IMG_1526914561084.jpg

I was posted to the ministry of health in the ambulance unit and my job was to head a team of paramedics. I was supposed to work with a doctor but the doctors were in short supply and so I had to manage the team. I was grossly unprepared for that task. Heck, the only thing I learned in school was to cut cadavers and cram a bunch of fancy medical jargons. It was indeed a learning experience for me. I remember the day we lost a patient who was hit by a motorcyclist. There was really little we could do to save her.
We rushed her to the hospital but the doctors could not attend to her on time. She died.

IMG_20180521_160632_666.jpg

NCCF


NCCF means Nigerian Christian Corpers Fellowship. NCCF is basically a fellowship for youth corpse members.

FB_IMG_1526914280739.jpg

I served in NCCF as the Music Director of Ibadan North Subzone. It was one of the best experiences of my life. I'm not a professional musician so my job was basically to organise things and make sure that there was music, even if I wasn't going to be the one playing.

IMG_20180521_155731_971.jpg

FB_IMG_1526914291341.jpg

FB_IMG_1526914313247.jpg

During my youth service NCCF days, I was actively involved in rural rugged evangelism. We went to the most remote part of Ibadan to distributed relief materials and preach the gospel of Christ.

FB_IMG_1526914302117.jpg

I'm grateful to God for all these experiences because they added a lot of virtue to me. The other day, someone told me that he was going to able to go for NYSC. Some people believe that NYSC is a waste of time and that it should be erased. I believe that NYSC still serves its role and function in building Nigeria youths. At least it cushions the level of unemployment amongst youth for a year. Most graduates don't even get jobs after during their NYSC and some are posted to places where they do nothing. If students should just discover at the end of schooling that they have been scammed, that there are no jobs, that all they crammed had no practical application in the real world, it would be a terrible shock. The one-year youth service is an opportunity for students to wake up to reality, realize that they have to take responsibility for their own future and take charge of their lives.

What is Gratitude Day?


Everyday is gratitude day.
@tojukaka

Special thanks to all these lovely people who took partook in my gratitude challenge yesterday. Thank you!

@uche-nna
@julietisrael
@oredebby
@mickyscofield
@ohakfarm
@funshel
@samotu
@christyanthony
@thankgodikkc
@shollstun
@maribelquere97
@jo5h
@esttyb
@morgangreat
@botefarm
@gloeze
@apav
@josyweed

Gratitudeday is all about being thankful for the things that are happening/has happened in your life. A lot of us go through life taking things for granted. The goal is to challenge you to make a blog post about something you are grateful for. It could be big or small. It doesn't matter. Little things matter. I'll be doing this for 62 days (62 is not a random number). It's not an endurance game, you can join in anytime you want and opt out anytime you want.

How to Participate in #GratitudeDay Challenge

Upvote my #gratitudeday post
Resteem my #gratitudeday post(not compulsory)
Write a post about anything you are grateful for.
Use the tag #gratitudeday13 or just #gratitudeday

This is what I will do in return.

I'll upvote your post
I'll note your name in my spreadsheet, that you qualify for the grand prize of 62SBD. The grand prize is now unknown.

Thank you very much.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now