Do You Want A Witness You Believe In?

I saw a post from a witness that I respect a lot named @jackmiller:

Loyalty Is The Foundation That I Believe In Building Upon

red-diamond.gif

Hard Fork 20 Opened My Eyes

After seeing this pledge it brought up some of the unpleasant things that have been bothering me since the beginning of the Hardfork 20. I know, I know, they seemed to fix it so that most people can now use it. But I still have a bad taste in my mouth about some things that happened.

red-diamond.gif

Three Lessons From HF20

First, I feel that once again the people at the top don't really care about the little guys (or frankly the masses). They will say they do care, but only when its a catastrophe will they do anything about it. I don't like that. I want the people in charge to care about me the regular user and how I feel.

Second, I think the arrogance that some people display (those that matter) is stunning and detrimental to the long term health of the platform. I have seen the tech gobbledygook that they throw out there to make them feel superior, but frankly I could do the same thing in my field of "business and markets", so it doesn't impress me one bit. If they don't stop talking down to the people that use the platform and start engaging people like they are truly on their side, then I am not too confident in my future here. At a minimum its giving me a reason to pause and re-evaluate, so for now I'm still here, but can't say with confidence anymore for just how long.

Finally, I am appalled at the lack of accountability that witnesses and management have for their bad behavior. In any business I've managed, heads would've rolled by now. This HF20 was terribly implemented and fixes had to be made immediately. They had to increase the "resource credits" by 10x to even make the system usable.

red-diamond.gif

A Silver Lining

One major positive thing though in botching this rollout, they made everyone aware that it is possible to make the "rich even richer" by giving them the ability to restrict usage and make people pay to make comments (and do such things as vote for witnesses). It showed the true nature of many witnesses that supported this absolutely asinine idea. If people here think this platform will EVER succeed by charging people to make comments freely then they are so far off then its truly unbelievable.

red-diamond.gif

@fulltimegeek Is Now A Witness Too

I'm happy to see witness @jackmiller make this pledge and I'm very much in support of him and his dedication to me the "regular guy" on this platform. I also am thrilled to see the great @fulltimegeek decide to become a witness to make things better too. You can view his views here in his latest post:

Fulltimegeek Talks About The Responsibilities Of A Steem Witness

or you can just click the video and watch it yourself! If you haven't voted for him yet, I highly encourage it!

Watch Here

https://steemitimages.com/0x0/https://ipfs.io/ipfs/QmdAshA8Ef3ceP9wG45KqRJpdPNFC1LsZwYUQYPKCjgEKf

red-diamond.gif

The bottom line is we need witnesses that "get it" that will stand up for us and help make the Steem Blockchain all that it can be. If this is meant to be a platform for the masses, then we need witnesses like @jackmiller and @fulltimegeek that are going to lead us with their actions. Its time for a change and I hope we all help to bring the right witnesses up a notch with our collective votes.

Do You Want A Witness You Believe In?

red-diamond.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center