5 Incredible Tips On How To Build Client Relationships

In one meeting with a client I learned some incredible tips on how to really build a solid relationship with your client. Here is my story.

The other day, I had a client and friend call me and ask me to join him for a meeting with his cable TV rep. He doesn't think it is working and wanted to shift spending to some of their digital outlets. He wanted me to come in and sit in the meeting and offer my honest advice.

TIP #1: Alway Be Honest Even If It Hurts

I earned my seat at the table because I have a reputation for being honest and blunt. I don't really sugar coat things when it comes to dealing with business. I would recommend a little more sugar coating than I apply, but you have to find your style, just be honest.

I've helped my client in the past and when he asks a question, I give him the honest answer. Even if it hurts. He was proud to show me some videos they made at the facility to help market some things, and asked me what I thought. I bucked up and explained why they wouldn't work the way he wanted. That was the last thing he wanted to hear, but it was exactly what he needed to hear and that is why he trusts me.


TIP #2: Do The Homework So Your Client Doesn't Have To 

When we all sat down at the table, I disarmed the sales reps by explaining that we had a mutual friend who worked at the same business and he recently gave me the rundown on all the digital components and traditional options for advertising. Which is 100% true. It meant that the meeting was going to be about ideas and moving forward. They had nothing to sell me on. I already established that I knew all of their products and showed my client that I did my homework. It also meant he didn't have to and that saves him time.


TIP #3: Know What Your Client Is Thinking

During the meeting, the sales rep was discussing how many views my clients ads got and how much branding was done. Business owners who count ticket sales don't really care too much about views and branding. They care about butts in the seats. I could see it on his face, so I spoke up. I explained that although branding is important, sales are what we need. (Notice I said "we".) My client spoke up after I broke the ice and said, "The views are great, but I am not seeing any movement in ticket stales."

When I spoke up and explained what my client was thinking, he was able to interject and confirm. He is a nice guy and doesn't want to be blunt with the pretty sales reps. I on the other hand, am only concerned with one thing, and that is getting the best value for my client. I can only do that if I know what my client is thinking, and it is almost always the bottom line... not branding.


TIP #4: Draw A Line In The Sand

After the talk about branding and views, I asked can we track it? Of course they can't, it's TV, but I already knew that. lol Like a lawyer, never ask a question you don't already know the answer to. After she replied they can't, I explained that is why I would never recommend TV ads under any circumstances. She didn't want to hear that, but it is the right thing for my client. He should not be spending money on ads that we can't track and that are not working. 

I drew a line in the sand and said, we are not going to tolerate ads without trackable success. Now that puts the pressure back on them to deliver us results and not branding. They talked about their digital platform and how they can track and target more specifically.  My client and I both agreed that that is what we need. The reps were back in the game, but now they knew this wasn't going to be a cake walk. They would have to earn their money by showing results because I drew a line in the sand about TV advertising. I took the side of my client and made it clear they had to work for our business.


TIP #5: Bring Winning Ideas To The Table

This was the part that really made the sales reps nervous. They worked with my client and ran an ad campaign for a really awesome and modern racetrack, and they targeted race fans. They were trying to sell the racetrack. I spoke up and said that maybe we are marketing the wrong thing. She said, "But it's a racetrack?" 

That is when I knew I had her. I said, yes but race fans already know its here. What we need to do is sell the family experience. Target families as an affordable fun night out with the kids. I said we should target women instead of men because they make the family decisions. I proposed reworking the ads to show families eating nachos in the stands with huge cheesy smiles watching the loud cars go by. The owner loved it. Even the sales reps admitted that it was a good idea and that they could run it through their digital program and we could track results.

By the end of the meeting, my client received more value for his money, a new ad campaign strategy and now sales reps that won't take his money for granted. By the end of the meeting, my client was very happy with my work. He even said it was fun to watching me put them on their heels. lol

These are five tips, that work for me everyday as I grow my small digital media business. If you apply these techniques to your business, you will see better relationships with your clients. I value my clients and I put their needs as a priority and do my best to deliver value and results. After all, if you can't provide value and results, it doesn't matter how much a client likes me, he won't pay me. 

BONUS - At one point the sales rep asked in defense if I clicked on Facebook ads, and this is what I said. "No, I only use Steemit when I'm on a social media personally and only on Facebook for business. I then added, it doesn't matter if I click or not because the client is only paying for the people that do click... unlike TV.


Let me know your thoughts about these tips in the comments below. I appreciate any feedback.

To my followers, you are so awesome. I really appreciate you.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center