Actionable Life Hacks to Save and Make Money for Travel


There are many reasons why you can't travel or tell yourself you can't travel the world, money is indeed one of them. Being broke can squash any ideas you have of an adventure around the globe, but I'm here to help you overcome this predicament because I've done myself.

A Little Background


Several years ago, I decided I wanted to take a year off and travel. I was tired of the corporate rat race. One day, I decided I wanted to live a simple life so I could travel more. I sold everything that would hold me back from travel. One thing I can tell you. It was the best decision I've ever made in my life. Sure, I just about lost everything. I missed out on the "American Dream,"  but I've gained something else better in return; something money can never buy. A collection of moments I will have with me for the rest of my life.

Travel is the only thing you buy that makes you rich.

Believe it or not, it can be cheap to travel. Don't believe all the things you see in commercials; travel doesn't have to be luxurious and expensive. You'll have to change your mindset about what comforts are; we are spoiled in America! The rest of the world sleep on the floor and live in mud huts, they're doing just fine, and you will do fine too!

Peyto Lake View
Peyto Lake View

Several Different Ways To Save Money


There are hundreds of ways to cut expenses of traveling ranging from accommodations to the food you eat. I�ve met a few travelers in Europe with only 600 Euros to their name that have successfully circled the globe by doing work exchange programs, seasonal jobs.
Caye Caulker, Belize
Caye Caulker, Belize

Some are even lucky enough to have an online based business and jobs. I will not address how to make money while traveling (that�s for a future article); for now we�ll cover how to save for travel.

Several ways pare down your expenses, and some are more drastic than others such as embracing a minimalist lifestyle. Check out some tips at The Minimalist. Minimalism will de-clutter your life, allowing you to focus on what's important like buying experiences, not things. It will make a life of travel accessible.

I�ll start with the most drastic way to feed your wanderlust. These are methods I used to fund my 6-month driving adventure in Europe. Please remember this won�t apply to everyone; if you have dependents you can�t just dump your responsibilities and go gallivanting on some grand adventure, but then again you're reading this so a life of accumulating experiences must be a life you want to pursue.

Neuschwanstein Panorama
Neuschwanstein Panorama

Don't Get A Mortgage


While owning a home is the de facto American dream, it is the crux to any traveler's woes: the proverbial ball and chain. You can�t travel while paying a monthly mortgage, property tax, insurance, utilities you didn�t need while renting, HOA fees, and various maintenance expenses and costs. A mortgage is typically 20 or 30 years and subject housing bubbles and subprime crisis.
Sunset Quito Ecuador
Watching the Sunset in Quito, Ecuador

Rather than invest in a dwelling, I challenge you to spend in your life. You can accumulate all the wealth in the world, buy all the fancy cars and houses, but you can NEVER BUY BACK TIME. Besides, all the things you can do now in your youth you won't be able to do when you're too old. Hey, I'd like to be doing 360 flips off a 40 feet cliff on a snowboard when I'm 80, but the reality is that's not likely going to happen. So by the time you've paid off your mortgage, you'll be what? 70 years old? Just check out this guy's story, it's enough to make you want to drop everything and follow your dreams!

Don't Get A Car Unless You Have To


I was paying $450 a month for Jeep Wrangler Rubicon from a lease. While it was a beautiful and awesome ride, it guzzles up

Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://www.alwayswanderlust.com/save-make-money-for-travel/


Share Your Instagram|Youtube|Twitter to Steem! Share2Steem

Fight me on Steem Monsters! SteemMonsters

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now