Bitcoin Dark (BTCD) Getting the Boot from Bittrex

The past few days I've noticed the red info box next to my BTCD wallet on Bittrex. I figured they were just doing wallet maintenance or something so I didn't bother clicking the info box because most of the time that's what it means.

So it's been there for a number of days now and I got curious and clicked the info box and found out that...

They're delisting Bitcoin Dark BTCD from Bittrex on January 26 so if you hold any on Bittrex then you'll need to find a new home for it or trade it.

bt delist.JPG

I wanted to hold onto mine so I went to see what other exchanges support it and here's what I found (not any that I have an account on, unfortunately).

exchanges.JPG

image source: https://www.coingecko.com/en/coins/bitcoindark/trading_exchanges

I was going to create an account on Poloniex and send my BTCD there but due to the high influx of new account creation it's a pretty sure thing that the January 26 deadline will pass before I get my account set up.

I thought about maybe trying the others but I'm pretty sure I'd come across the same problem. Plus the other exchanges don't look like they have much liquidity as far as BTCD goes.

This may be a good thing because I'm already on enough exchanges and I don't want more usernames, passwords, etc to keep track of but I'm sad to do what I just had to do....trade my BTCD for BTC. I have nothing against BTC but I've diversified my holdings a lot the past few months and I wanted to keep my BTCD.

Oh well. The point at which I traded out was at about a 40% profit...wish I'd known this was coming as I could have cashed out quite a bit higher a few weeks ago.

Anyway, just thought I'd give the community a heads up. If you hold BTCD on Bittrex, you might want to do something with it before January 26.

Disclaimer: This is for informational purposes only and I cannot tell you specifically what is best to do if you currently hold this coin on Bittrex. I merely want to inform people so they don't miss the deadline because I didn't see much other decent info on google search other than one short steemit post and a couple of other hits.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now