A 15% commission???

Continuing my search for the quickest and best way to purchase Bitcoin in Hong Kong several weeks ago (before the current correction), I decided to try a personal exchange via localbitcoins.com

It felt all kind of fishy... meeting a stranger in front of Ms. Fields at the Central MTR station in Hong Kong. But I did it. This guy walked up and, recognizing me from my WhatsApp photo, introduced himself. Calm, cool, a bit nerdy, but not scary. Okay. How much to buy Bitcoin? 15% commission! Wow! I was desperate to buy Bitcoin or Ethereum (anxious to get in on an ICO), but not that desperate. (I should have asked earlier.)

Then he told me something interesting...

...commissions were up to 40% in South Korea! He said Koreans were coming down to Hong Kong to buy Bitcoin like crazy. Again, that was prior to all the FUD in South Korea. I suspect that "cross border trade" has dissipated.

He said commissions at ATMs, which I had yet to try, were only a bit lower.

So... back to my bank to wire BTCC some cash, which arrived the next day.

btcc.jpg

But hold on: when I got home, I received an email notification that BTCC's credit card payment process had been reactivated. I quickly jumped on and, as a test, sent over a couple hundred USD. Instant! I immediately shot it over to my Wallet and it was off!

Thank you BTCC!! My method off upload from here on out!

Next: My first ICO: Bezop! Was it a mistake?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center