A Taste Of New Orleans In New Jersey

IMG_20230719_132100423_HDR.jpg
On Route 37 in Toms River, The Turning Point opened up in the spot that used to house a Ruby Tuesday off Route 37. Only open until 3pm, The Turning Point is an ideal place for brunch. Many times, I don't have a real breakfast, so my lunch and breakfast are often combined.

Stopping in there one afternoon, I realized that I wasn't the only one with this idea as there was a thirty minute wait. I decided to try the Big Easy Benedict, being a fan of Eggs Benedict. I couldn't get enough of this New Orleans twist on a favorite egg dish. The meal consisted of cornbread, avocado, Cajun spiced onions and peppers, Chicken Chorizo, two Poached Eggs and a Creole spiced Hollandaise.

The dish had a nice kick to it without being very overpowering. Coming with a side of potatoes, the Cajun and Creole spices made this dish not only a winner but also elevated the flavor of the cornbread as well. The fact that they didn't hold back on the peppers and onions was also a plus. I washed everything down with a refreshing glass of lemonade.

I had to do some research as to why New Orleans is referred to as the Big Easy. In summary, I basically found that the term refers a laid back lifestyle of the locals and the jazz musicians that frequent their clubs. This brunch delight was like a cool breeze blowing through my hair while the atmosphere filled with some Zydeco.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center