Interviewing Pro Boxers

IMG_3710.JPG

Here is a little behind the scenes shot of my interview with GGG or Gannady Golovkin, middleweight champion of the world in his hi altitude training camp in Big Bear, CA.

You know being here makes me think about where I grew up... Mammoth/Bishop, CA, because the climate, vibe and environment is similar in Big Bear.

And hanging out with these pro boxers makes me remember all the boxing stories from my grandfather. Today I was thinking how random it was that the family ended up in Bishop of all places. Out from New York, to Southern California and then, because of a 7th grade teaching opportunity, up north to small town Bishop, CA.

His boxing legacy is apparently still alive back in New York, or was in the not too distant past I'm told, but I really knew nothing of that world. I was in college when my cousins, my aunt and my dad and brother went to visit everyone "back east".

But I am reminded of a lot of him in the spirit of these boxers, if that's not too much of a stretch to believe. It's simple, not glamorous day in and day out, all about conditioning and preparing.

They say the sense of smell triggers memories. Perhaps this reflection is brought about because the air in Big Bear smells like the town where I grew up.

Here the video in case you want to see how it turned out!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center