Top 10 Boxers in the WORLD

This list is my current view of the top 10 boxers in the world today. I am including boxers who may be inactive!

TEN. Anthony Joshua - Muscle man AJ is definitely an entertaining fighter and so far has been involved in 2 memorable fights. First with an injured Dillian Whyte, second with a 41 year old, inactive Wladimir Klitschko. Both of these wins were very impressive, but as I hinted when naming those fighters, neither were in their peak during these fights.

joshuaaa.jpg

However, he's beat everything put in front of him so far and if he can get a win over Deontay Wilder OR Tyson Fury in 2018 then he'd shoot up a few places in this list for certain!

NINE. Daniel Jacobs - With a very impressive 32 Wins - 2 losses on his record, Danny Jacobs is not only a world class Middleweight, but he's without doubt the most inspirational story in Boxing today.

danny jacobs.jpg

He came back from a life-threatening battle with Bone cancer in 2011, to become World Champion in 2014!

EIGHT. Canelo Alvarez - This Ginger haired Mexican has a warriors chin and arguably the best defensive work on the ropes I've ever seen from a boxer. Golovkin recently beat Canelo by 3 or 4 points in my view, but despite hurting Canelo several times, he never once dropped him or truly wobbled him.

canelooo.jpg

Canelo boasts a very impressive record of 49 Wins, 1 loss and 2 draws - but almost every boxing fan would agree that he also lost in his draw to Golovkin and that's why he's lower on my list than he otherwise would have been!

SEVEN. Mikey Garcia - This hard-hitting Lightweight is a new edition to most people's top 10 after a streak of bouts that resulted in Mikey reaching true elite status. Just recently he beat Adrian Broner in a weight above his usual comfort.

mikey garcia.jpg

His record sits at 37-0 with 30 wins coming by Knockout. For me, he is a Linares victory from the Number 2 spot.

SIX. Vasyl Lomachenko - To any hardcore boxing fans, I've literally just walked into their elderly mothers home and stolen her biscuit tin. I can explain this blasphemy. He's beat world class fighters, but no ELITE fighters for me. Secondly, I believe he is going to lose on points to Guillermo Rigondeaux next month if Guillermo isn't feeling his age yet.

vasyl-lomachenko_6.jpg

FIVE. Guillermo Rigondeaux - This is where I was going to put Lomachenko, but the ONLY reason I have them what many would consider the "wrong way round" is simply because I feel Rigondeaux will beat Lomachenko next month!

guillermo.jpg

I'm not sitting on the fence with this one. I'm going for the underdog. If he isn't feeling his age, he's got Loma's number!

FOUR. Tyson Fury - Yes, he is inactive. Yes, he is currently the size of a whale. Yes, he hasn't fought in 2 years. But my word, if it wasn't for people's dislike for his outspoken personality, he would be worshiped by hardcore boxing fans.

tysonnn.jpg

Why so high? - 1. He walked over Chisora and Hammer without receiving a single blow - 2. He absolutely schooled an active Wladimir Klitschko in his own back yard - 3. He did all that by 27 years of age. He may not be as explosive as an Anthony Joshua, but there has probably never been a Heavyweight with better boxing ability and movement.

THREE. Oleksandr Usyk - This one will surprise many, but not only has he already triumphed over several World Class Cruiserweights amassing his current 13-0 (11 KO's) record, but he's also just 4 months away from being crowned the World Boxing Super Series Cruiserwight champion with wins over Mairis Briedis and Marco Huck in the process.

usyk.jpg

Yes, I am partly basing this on his next fight result being a victory over Briedis but I'm confident that'll be the case.

TWO. Gennady Golovkin - What can be said about this guy. One of my favorite boxers ever and I wish I could put him Number 1 without knowing in my gut, it was down to favoritism rather than merit. This guy is the best Middleweight of all time and currently boasts a 39-0 Record with wins over Danny Jacobs, Canelo Alvarez and David Lemieux.

golovkin1.jpg

Thanks to his clear victory over Canelo being called a draw (Fixed, money talks) - he will get the chance to do the double over Canelo in March when the two meet for a rematch. He's a victory in that fight away from the Number 1 position.

ONE. Terrence Crawford - I've watched this guy several times and several times I brushed him off as just another Elite fighter. He isn't. He's an all time great in the making. His record currently sits at 32-0 (23 by KO) with wins over several world champions including Ricky Burns, Viktor Postol and Julius Indongo.

terrenceee.jpg

He already holds EVERY Super Lightweight world belt, but the reason he's my number 1 is because of the way he totally crushed Julius Indongo in his last fight. A fighter I rate as world class. Crawford seems to only be getting better.

boxingggg.jpg

AND there's my list. Please comment your thoughts. Who would you have as Number 1? Anyone I missed out? or maybe you just totally disagree with the order. Let me know in the comment section :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center