How to Damage Your Reputation Using the DMCA - A Lesson From Mark Manson


Manson Seems to Give a F*** About Being Petty



Image Source - Amazon

Several months ago I read a book which I really enjoyed and I posted a glowing review of it.

Like many people who read something which they think is great I wanted to share it.

I had a competition to give a copy away.

Several people even contacted me afterwards to say how they bought the book on the basis of my review.

The book was called "The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F_ck" by Mark Manson.

You can read my review here.

I have done a number of reviews for books I liked and I always email a copy to the authors to let them know. The response has always been positive.

-Until now that is.


No Good Deed....

It seems that Mark Manson or someone representing him is trying to have the review taken down under DMCA.

ThinkstockPhotos-636337794.jpg

Book reviews are not only fair use, they are free advertising.

See this link here on github - many thanks to @ausbitbank for letting me know.

This is ridiculous as not only is a book review one of the most obvious cases of fair use it is also terrible PR - particularly given the basic premise of Manson's book.

I could understand someone being aggrieved with a very negative review - everyone has feelings, although even in that case they would have no grounds for a DMCA takedown.

The problem with the DMCA is that things are often taken down or blocked anyway because companies don't have time to look into things in depth and are afraid of lawsuits.

My review is on the blockchain so can't be removed but it's visibility can be altered and it could be blocked on the Steemit website.


Giving F_cks in All The Wrong Places

ThinkstockPhotos-493695734.jpg

My respect for Manson has been destroyed.

The whole episode is really sad.

I suppose the most disappointing thing is that it basically killed the respect I had developed for Mark Manson and his book.

Manson clearly does give a "f***" and in a very petty way. He also has a lot to learn about PR.

Needless to say I now see him as a phony and will not be reading his future books or recommending any of his work.

So if that was your intention, Mark, - mission accomplished.


Thank You For Reading


ThinkstockPhotos-598175960.jpg




Steemithelp.net

Are you new to Steemit and Looking for Answers?

Please visit:

Steemithelp.net

A collection of guides and tutorials that cover the basics of Steem and Steemit.


Follow me Steemit & Twitter.

All uncredited images are taken from my personal Thinkstock Photography account. More information can be provided on request.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center