Book Review: The Girl on the Train

A more or less spoiler free review of one of the more annoying books I've read this year.

Title - The Girl on the Train

My Rating - 3 Stars

March 30, 2017 – Finished Reading
March 27, 2017 – This book is making me irrationally angry and I can't explain why and I don't know if I will finish it. Stay tuned
March 26, 2017 – Started Reading

TL:DR - The Girl on the Train is getting 3 stars from me because the horrible characters and situations made me want to finish this book. Otherwise, I hated it.

This is one of those books you read because everyone's reading it. When I picked up a hardback copy of this I hadn't seen the film - not even the trailer, had managed to avoid all the spoilers - I didn't have the faintest idea of what it was about.

I was quite intrigued at the beginning. I was interested in the how, when and why of the relationship between Rachel and Jess & Jason and it was probably that which saved this book from DNF zero stars.

You see, for reasons that I still don't have, this book made me so angry. I got halfway through and thought "My God, I hate these people, I hate the situation they are in, I hate Cathy, I hate the red haired guy and I hate the setting". I think only little Evie was the only character that I didn't feel disgusted with.

So I put the book down. At that point I was seriously considering not finishing it, which for someone who can honestly count on her own two hands the amount of books she DNF, was a huge thing. I even admitted it to social media - The Book Devourer has found a book that she doesn't want to finish :O

In the three or so days that came after, I couldn't settle with any book for long. I got another chapter through Too Close to Home, read the preview for After You in the back of my copy of Me Before You and nearly picked up A Game of Thrones again (after all The Winds of Winter is coming soon guys, right???).

It was clear to me that The Girl on the Train was the reason I couldn't stick at any other book. It had needled it's way into my head and was staying put until I finished it. And am I happy that I did? Well yes, kind of. Part of me wishes I'd never read it, but the other part knows that however much I hated the characters I hate leaving stories unfinished even more.

This review was originally posted on Goodreads on 30th March 2017. Thanks for reading! TTFN. x

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center