Bird Box – Book Review

Bird Box.jpg

This is a book review, I haven't seen the Netflix movie. Bird Box was written by Josh Malerman and published in 2014 and it is a post-apocalyptic novel.

The story follows Malorie in two different timelines. The first timeline is when the danger only starts to manifest. Malorie is living with her sister Shannon when reports about strange incidents start to happen around the world. All the incidents have one thing in common. People saw something first. This doesn't concern Malorie, whose main worry is that she discovers that she is pregnant, after a short not committing relationship. Despite the worry of a coming baby, Shannon manages to convince Malorie to take the situation seriously and they barricade themselves inside of their home as the situation outside escalates daily.

In the second timeline it is four years since the end of the world and Malorie struggles to get her two children into safety. Is there such a thing? Is the place she wants to go to still exists? Will she be able to survive the journey with two little children? Will the danger that is outside will let her pass?

This is a good book, but the writing is not so good. I mean I know that Malorie has some emotional issues, but the writing seems so technical, so devoid of any emotion, that it bothered me. I'm usually fine with any kind of writing, but this actually annoyed me at times.

The story kept me reading. Even though you have the feeling that you know what is going to happen, I found that I just couldn't stop reading. I had to continue. In the end the story did hold a few surprises. Some plot twists were predictable, while others were not.

I felt that the book had a good appropriate ending. I heard it will get a sequel. It really shouldn't. It is great just as it is. Sometimes, the reader shouldn't know more.

So, if you're in the mood for a horror book that you can't stop reading, this is a pretty good choice.

Source image

Please follow me and upvote my posts to help yourself stay up to date with everything that is nerdy and awesome.

Resteems will also be most appreciated.

See you in my next post.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now