Who Is Darcy Coates?

IMG_20230625_084919219_HDR.jpg

That is the question I was asking myself while looking over her book "Gallows Hill" while shopping in a local Barnes & Noble. Yes, you read that right, I was actually shopping in a book store picking up an actual book with no Kindle involved. I am a fan of horror movies, but I want to read more books within the genre. With a movie, you are given a visual to scare the pants off you. As far as a book goes, you have to rely on the author's description and then let your imagination run away with the rest.

Something made me pick up this book and I am glad I did! Not only that but I want to read some of the other titles by Ms. Coates. I found it very hard to put this book down with most chapters ending with a sentence that made me want to turn the page regardless of my schedule. I came to find out that Darcy Coates is a USA Today Bestselling Author.

I am going to try and not spoil the book for you, but some little details can't hurt. Margot inherited the family business and home in this 2022 novel. Their wine has won numerous awards. Most of the employees live on the property. As a matter of fact, the estate has an unhealthy hold on them, with some having the scars to prove it. Margot was sent away as a young child, with no understanding as to why her parents didn't want her. Unfortunately, they both died on the same evening years later.

Why would they leave a business and home to a child they sent away to live with her Nanna? Everything seemed so strange, including getting no direct answer as to how her parents die. Kant, who worked for her parents for a long time, attempted with a few others to give her the answers she sought. However, they didn't totally understand the situation either. Each evening, things became clearer that there was more to her parents deaths, as the property seemed to be cursed. Just when you think you have the story figured out, something else happens. Margot literally bled to get the answers she needed.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment