Identifying inner spirit within a young tree

Presenting another small tree in my collection. A future bonsai in the making? She is a little shy, so be nice and she might come out of her shell.


20171107_090928.jpg

ID: 0018
Nickname: Angel
Type: Forsythia
Age: 2 years
Grown: cutting
Last repotting: never
Wired: never

For those of you new to my feed, I like to post photos and stories about trees I grow in pots. The art form, when done well, is called Bonsai. In each of my posts I like to introduce the type of tree, a bit of its history and character aspects, and perhaps some inspiration it brings to life.

This is the second tree of this type in my collection. It is so young, I was a bit embarrassed to even share it. Even if I get 100 people who look at my tree photos and say it looks great, I cringe to think of what the one expert is going to say when they notice it. I guess I am a bit overly critical sometimes worrying what people will think of my talents. Obviously I am not a professional tree grower, but I am enjoying my hobby by making mistakes and learning from them. Such a give and take relationship with my trees makes the fruit of my labors is all the more rewarding.

20171010_145734.jpg

October 10, 2017

Here is the same tree a month earlier.

The leaves on this tree strike me a bit differently than the other Forythia I am growing. Notice the way the leaves are all angled to lift up towards the sky. If it had wings I think it would fly.

20171010_145722.jpg

From the top view it makes a full canopy.

In this photo I notice the sprout on the left side could easily be made into a separate tree if I wanted to, just by burying the trunk a bit deeper, and split the tree after new roots develop. This type of tree roots very quickly from cuttings. Even in poor soil, if it is wet, it will form a full root ball easily.

The leaves are almost waxy. They hold the water on top of the leaves. The shimmering light dancing on the water puddles over the leaves is mesmerizing.

20171010_145717.jpg

Something about this tree seems very spiritual to me. The way it lifts my eyes up, even though it sits so low to the ground. The angle of the leaves rising up to greet the light. The supernatural way it commands the light to aim down on it in its earthly bound state. I think this tree is a being of the light and heavens, serving on Earth, and awaiting the day when it will rejoin the ethereal domain above. Truly, it will be a gift from Above to behold if this tree offers to bloom golden petals in the Spring.

The best trees I have always felt are guardians. They watch over nature. They might house a family of birds, mice, squirrels. Sometimes they give of themselves, sacrificing their leaves or bark to support a colony of beetles, aphids, lichen, mold, moss, ferns, or toadstool. Ever since the guardian tree was a seedling, it knows what its future will be, and it accepts its fate.

An ancient guardian tree makes me want to reach out and touch the bark. To me, it is as magical as the crisping wrinkles of a weathered hand belonging to a wise old soul with unheard new legends to share. As a child I have been known to hug a tree once or twice. Meditating, I would sit in silence below their boughs basking in the sun and the comforting shade and soft wind. Listening, I would hope to hear the sweet voice of the tree to know its hidden secrets.

If a tree falls in the woods, does it make a sound?

...

Nevermore.


Thinking about guardians, and beings of light, this tree reminded me of an Angel. Dazzling and fearsome to behold. Messengers of truth. Angels are bound to do good. Untainted by evil. The luckiest of souls have sometimes claimed to have seen an angel or even to have been protected and saved from death by a Guardian Angel. To have an Angel spirit guiding and watching over you is one of the greatest gifts a person could wish for. It might come in the most unexpected form imaginable.

Which brings to mind one of my favorite movies of the 80's which happens to be about an Angel, and the typical teen comedy romance flick. I used to watch this one over and over as a kid. The two villains of this movie chasing the main characters around remind me a lot of the plot-line in Ferris Beuller's Day Off, and the characters are just as much off the wall hilarious. Check out Date With An Angel if you have a chance to rent it online, or watch it on VHS.

Thanks for reading my post about my tree, and the special meanings I unfold. Soon I will be preparing for winter. My little trees will be bundled up like a baby in a blanket to stay warm and dry to protect from the cold winds.

If you have a favorite memory of a tree that was special to you as a child, please share in the comments below, or make a post and link to it in the comments for my friends to find.

Have a wonderful week!


Bonus photo:

For those of you foodies, this is one of the best meals I had all year.

Pumpkin pie, spring salad with radish and beets, toasted artisan bread sandwich with ham, greens, honey mustard, green apple, and melted brie cheese. Expertly crafted by a talented baker who operates at an outdoor food cart.

20171026_131844.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center