Grand Fir: Deep Green Evergreen Conifer Tree [Bonsai]

20190820_113652.jpg

Behold the Grand Fir tree. Enjoy photos of this young bonsai tree from my collection of many trees.

Not so grand in size yet. One day, I hope it will live up to its name with a majestic presence.

20190820_113659.jpg

Another Oregon native species, this tree is prized by tree farms as an especially popular tree to sell in Winter, because it makes a wonderful Christmas tree.

It has beautiful shiny dark green needles that are not sharp. The tree has a wonderful evergreen pine scent. It has a natural habit of forming a classic cone-shaped tree shape. Pruning it encourages buds to make it into a bushier tree with many new clustered branches covered in needles.

20190820_113714.jpg

My plan for this tree is a bit indistinct. Originally I was attempting to wire it to encourage some steep slanting in the trunk. When I recently rewired the trunk, I felt that the trunk is extending too long and straight, and the top of the tree is becoming too thick.

By forming a deep bend on the middle branch, I can force this to become the new ideal leader for the trunk, by eventually removing the top portion of the tree above the middle branch. For now, I'll leave the trunk alone from major pruning, and let it serve its purpose as a sacrificial branch to help improve the thickness and health of the tree.

20190820_113723.jpg

From the top you can see the circular branch I formed with the wire on the far right. This is the interesting branch I am focused on building into the new trunk leader.

20190820_113740.jpg

The effects of the wiring on the tree leaves some deep grooves. The tree was recently rewired by spiraling the wire in the opposite direction to avoid further compression against the bark. In time the trunk will expand and these impressions will be less noticeable.

20190820_113823.jpg

Historical Information

ID: 0029
Nickname: ??? (Unnamed)
Type: Grand Fir
Age: 1 year
Grown: seed (from nursery stock)
Last repotting: February 2, 2019
Last Wired: August 20, 2019

More articles displaying this tree:

20190820_123133.jpg

Be sure to follow my work this week. I'm in the process of sharing the whole host of bonsai trees in my collection. There is over thirty trees I am growing. That means you can enjoy more than a month of fresh content from @creativetruth's back porch.

Share the goodness with me.

20190820_123112.jpg


Photos in this post are all #originalworks by @creativetruth, unless stated otherwise.

Find me on discord and chat with other tree growers, bonsai enthusiasts, and gardeners. We have quite a few accredited experts filling out our ranks, and a helpful Spanish-speaking community.

#teambonsai

No memberships. Love trees. Make friends. Grow together.


#green #forest-green #christmas-tree #bonsai-wiring #fir-tree #fir #grand-fir

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center